3 Comments

What I ate Wednesday

Happy Wednesday to you all!  The week is halfway over already!  Sweet!

It’s time again for another fun What I Ate Wednesday linkup!  Thanks Jenn for hosting this delicious event!

Peas and Crayons

Let’s start with my delicious breakfast, a green smoothie of coarse!

Lately, I haven’t been in the mood to eat much or do much for breakfast.  Every night before I go to bed I think about making overnight oats, or cooking up pancakes in the morning but… then the morning arrives and all I really feel like is a smoothie.  At least it’s healthy and delicious!  Today’s was a mixture of LOADS of spinach (like 3 cups full!), Vanilla unsweetened almond milk, vegan chocolate protein powder, a spoonful of PB2 and a banana.  It was super good.

I drank this while making the Love Nugget a new snack that I’ll be sharing with you tomorrow.  Here’s a sneak peak though…

Of coarse I had to sample one too 🙂

Since we were heading out for the morning, I sliced up an organic Fuji apple and grabbed a Promax protein bar for a snack.

Promax just sent me a few of their nutrition bars to sample.  As we were running our errands, I opened this one for a snack.   They have really good nutrition stats with 13 grams of protein and only 140 calories.

I took a few bites but just wasn’t in the mood for the super sweetness of it.  It tasted good and all, sort of like a cinnamon roll rice crispy treat but just not what I wanted at the time.  Instead I had my apple and a few of my almond/cranberry mixture I always have stashed in the car for emergencies 🙂

For lunch today I had a salad with spinach, romaine, goat cheese, Trader Joe’s chopped veggie mix, some chicken and asparagus left over from dinner the other night and some raw sunflower seeds.  The dressing was the dressing from the asparagus mixture.

It was good but I wanted a little something after so I munched on few roasted edemame but forgot to snap a pic.

My cousin came over for a visit and a glass of wine which she enjoyed wearing the Love Nugget’s Tickle Monster Gloves! 

Too funny!  While we played with the Love Nugget and caught up we also shared one of the yummy Granola Nut Bars I made the other day.  So good!

Burrito bowls were on tonight’s dinner meal plan and while I was making them I snacked on a few of these.

I got a bag in my Healthy Surprise box a few months back and the hubby loved them!  Which is so not like him since they are really good for you 🙂  So I buy them from time to time for a healthy snack.  Really good and very few calories per serving.

Like I said dinner was a burrito bowl which included quinoa, black beans cooked with chopped chili’s and lime juice, tofu (for me, steak for the hubby), topped with a fresh pico de gallo sauce using an heirloom tomato from our garden!

Wow it was good and packed with flavor!  Yum!

After dinner I snacked on a few frozen grapes which is one of my favorite summertime snacks lately.

I had a second handful after this one.  So good, refreshing and healthy!  I prefer the red grapes over the green ones as their a little sweeter 🙂

QUESTION – What is your favorite after dinner snack?

3 comments on “What I ate Wednesday

  1. The Burrito Bowl looks divine. Wouldn’t say no to something simmilar for dinner 😉
    And my favorite after dinner snack is whatever sweet I am making that day. Since I am working from morning till late afternoon, most of my baking and preparing happens in the evening hours.

  2. Everything looks delicious! I keep hearing about freezing grapes for a snack, but every time I buy grapes, we eat them too fast!!

  3. Frozen Grapes really are amazing!!!

Leave a comment