2 Comments

Healthy Thanksgiving Ideas

Hi there! 

It’s Thanksgiving week!  Crazy how fast it snuck up on us this year!   This week I’ll be focusing on a few tips for a healthy, happy Thanksgiving.  Today, since I usually do meal planning on Sunday, I thought I would share a few healthy recipe ideas for your Turkey day. 

The past few years I’ve cooked a big turkey dinner at our house.  It’s been fun, but I’m looking forward to traveling to my in-laws, then my moms, for a two Thanksgiving dinners this year!  I’ll be bringing a few side dishes and appetizers to enjoy at each house and have been searching for some new, healthy recipes to make.  Here’s a few of my choices,

Appetizers –

 Sun-dried Tomato Hummus

This was a huge hit last time I made it!

Roasted Chickpeas

I made a version of these a few weeks ago and the Love Nugget and I munched away on them all day!  Yum!

Cheese and Vegetable Quinoa Bites

Pinned Image

Sides –

Cauliflower puree (instead of mashed potatoes)

If you’re not a huge fan of cauliflower, you could always do half mashed potatoes and half cauliflower.  I suggest using red potatoes as they pack a little more nutrients in them than just plain Idaho potatoes.

Maple Sage Glazed Carrots

Pinned Image

Roasted Green Beans with Mushrooms and Balsamic

I made this dish a few years ago and loved it so I might just have to make it again!

Roasted Green Beans and Mushrooms

Desserts –

No-Bake Chocolate Pumpkin Pie

chocolate pumpkin pie

Pumpkin Cheesecake Shooters

Pumpkin Pie Brownie Cupcake

20101001IMG 3870 thumb   Pumpkin Pie Brownie ‘Cupcakes’

QUESTIONS –

Are you cooking or just eating on Thanksgiving? 

Do you have any healthy recipes planned to make? 

2 comments on “Healthy Thanksgiving Ideas

  1. What a great variety of recipes girl. Thank you so much for sharing all of them with us 🙂 You are just the greatest!

    This Thanksgiving will be pretty low key. The hubs works all day, so our dinner won’t be until around 6:00. I mean I guess there is a positive (besides the negative of being home a lone all day).. at least I have all day to get the meal ready 🙂

  2. That’s true! Sometimes I wish I were all alone when preparing meals. I get sidetracked when others are there trying to help and ask questions. I’m one of those, “get out of my kitchen” people when it comes to cooking big meals. It’s the control freak in me! Have a great Monday!

Leave a comment