Leave a comment

Granola Nut Bars

Hey guys!

Hope you are having a wonderful day so far.  We’ve had a great day over here!

I decided to take the Love Nugget to the park and library today for a little play time.  They have a story hour called Mother Goose on the Loose but I wasn’t sure if it was still going on.  So we made our way to the park/library to play before the library opened and we could find out.   The Love Nugget loves this park and just runs around from toy to toy playing with everything!

It’s hard to get a good pic of him because he moves from one thing to the other within seconds!

He found a little girl friend that kept his attention for a bit but not long!  She was with her grandma and the grandma made a comment about the Love Nugget’s energy level.  Yes, I’m aware he is a very active little guy.  She didn’t say anything bad about it but it got me thinking.  How is he going to be when he is older?  I started watching the other kids at the playground that might have been around his age.  They were much more cautious and kept a watchful eye on their guardian.  Not the Love Nugget!  He runs around like an ant that’s lost his trail!  I think we are in for it as he gets older.  The funny thing is, I never really notice just how active he is until we are around other kids his age.  Maybe it was all the running I did while he was in my belly!  Ha!

After our park play, we made our way into the library where we read a few books and played with the toys.  It’s such a cute library and we’ve never actually spent time just hanging out.  He loved it so we’ll be back for sure!

Unfortunately, Mother Goose on the Loose is on a little break so we didn’t get to do that today.  Oh well!

We had to make a stop at Micheal’s for Bridal Shower supplies then home for nap and workout.  Today I did a nice sweaty 50 minutes on the elliptical while watching the Bachelor Pad.  I know, just one of those mindless things to watch while working out.  Then I did a quick 15 minute Nike Fitness app workout that focused on shoulders.  It was pretty good!

I wanted to share a recipe that I whipped up the other day that turned out delicious!

Granola Nut Bars (adapted from Iowa Girl Eats)

1 cup raw almonds

1 cup raw walnuts

1 cup old-fashioned oats

1/3 cup dried cranberries

1/3 cup white chocolate chips

1 large scoop vanilla protein powder

1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds

2 tbsp flax seeds

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup honey

3 tbsp coconut oil

1 tsp vanilla

Pulse almonds and walnuts in a food processor until slightly chopped.  If you like your bars chunky, do not overpulse.  Pour the nut mixture into a medium bowl and add oats, sunflower, cranberries, white chocolate chips, seeds, flax seeds, protein powder, cinnamon and sea salt.  In a small sauce pan, heat honey and coconut oil.  Bring to a boil and let bubble for about 20 seconds stirring constantly.  Remove from heat and add 1 tsp vanilla then pour into bowl with nut mixture and combine well.   Spread evenly into a 8×8 pan lined with parchment paper.  Allow to chill and set in the fridge for several hours.

Cut into 12 bars and enjoy!

These hold up really well and are still nice and chewy.

I think they’re one of my favorites so far!

This afternoon my cousin (auntie Gigi) is coming over for a visit and the Love Nugget is excited!  He even says her name when we show him a picture.  So cute!

QUESTION – If you have kids, how active is your little one?  Where you an active child?

My mom said that my brothers and I were all pretty active.  Not sure about the hubby though but he was a very athletic kid as was I.

Leave a Reply

