Leave a comment

Peanut Butter and Jelly Protein Bars

We accomplished all our grocery shopping today!  Hooray!

 

We were lucky to have some good company while shopping at Costco which kept the Love Nugget entertained.

His buddy Ty and his mom joined us after our SS workout.  Then we headed to Trader Joe’s where we stocked up on lots of goodies.  No matter how hard I try I can’t make it out of there without getting a few things that aren’t on my list.  As well as some that are on my list but they don’t have.  That’s one of my few complaints about TJ’s is that they don’t carry everything and I almost always have to go to another grocery store.  Kind of a hassle now that I’ve got a 14 month old to tote around with me.  But he was a great shopper today and literally passed out as soon as I started the car.

Slept all the way home, transferred to the crib and continued to sleep for a few hours more.  While he was sleeping I made myself lunch for today, as well as the next three days.  I’ve been wanting to try this salad in a jar trick I saw on Pinterest but just plain hadn’t.  I bought a case of new jars the other day so I figured I would make good use out of them.

I have a confession to make… I love nut butter.  You might have noticed we eat a lot of it.  Almond, peanut, sunflower… I’m interested in trying cashew and coconut butter soon!  So when I see a new recipe that calls for peanut butter, I jump at the chance to make it.  Even if it’s not something for myself (but for the hubby), I make it just so I can get a few samples of it 🙂

Today’s hubby recipe that I made just so I could have a bite… or two, was a recipe that I modified from Peanut Butter Fingers.  She said that her peanut butter protein bars where the most popular on her site last year.  So of coarse, I had to try them with a few adjustments.

Peanut Butter and Jelly Protein Bars

1/3 cup agave nectar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp sea salt

1 cup all natural peanut butter

1/2 cup almond butter

4 cups raisin bran cereal (you could use 5 if you don’t want to add the Kashi Go Lean Crunch)

1 cup Kashi Go Lean Crunch

1/2 sugar-free strawberry jelly

1 scoop protein powder (optional)

In a large sauce pan melt the brown sugar and agave until bubbling.  Add in the vanilla, cinnamon, salt, and nut butters.  Mix until smooth.  Add in the cereal and protein powder and mix well.  If possible, mix with a stand mixer which will break up the bran cereal a little.

Line an 8×8 pan with foil and pour half of the bran mixture into the pan.  Press down firmly with a spatula.  Spoon jelly over the mixture and spread evenly.

Pour the remaining cereal mixture over the jelly and press down evenly.  Cover with plastic wrap and chill for several hours or overnight.  Cut and store in the fridge or the freezer for a quick, protein packed yummy snack!

The hubby said these were the best protein bars yet and he hates raisin bran!  I didn’t tell him that’s what was in there but he didn’t seem to notice 🙂

I thought they were pretty good as well.  If you made them without protein powder they would be kid friendly too!

Tonight my brother who lives 3 hours from us was working in town so he came to stay with us.  The Love Nugget was excited to have a visitor to show off for.

For dinner I made a recipe that I saw on Iowa Girl Eats.  She has great recipes with amazing photo’s and with all the cherries I purchased last week, I have been itching to try this one out.  To her cherry salsa I added some garlic powder and raw chopped walnuts.  The walnuts were a really good compliment to the cherries and bbq chicken.  It was pretty good!

Since it was National Tequilla Day, we also had a margarita with dinner.

Even though we made it just they way I like it (tequilla, agave, lime juice and club soda), I couldn’t drink mine.  Still taquilla’d out from Mexico!  Happy National Tequila Day!

 

Leave a comment