Leave a comment

Blackberry Jam

Today was one of those days where several times I forgot what day it was.  Happens every once in a while.  It might have had something to do with the Love Nugget waking up at 5:30 and not going back to sleep.  Well, I take that back, he sort of snoozed in our bed on top of me once we located his pacifier but by that time I was wide awake.  It’s funny because I’ll get up and go to the gym at 5:15 or 5:30 and be fine but on the days that I’ve planned to sleep in and get woken up, I feel exhausted!

Since we were up and ready to go by 8:00 I decided to try our luck at the gym and hit up another spin class.  I needed to run 3 miles today for my half marathon training so I got there right when the day care opened to drop off the Love Nugget and get in my run before spin.  Unfortunately, the Love Nugget was not a happy camper when I left him.  So sad!  I actually started to tear up a little bit.  So it took me awhile to get my head into running and by the time spin started I had only done 2.5.  Oh well, close enough.  Once I got into spin I couldn’t stop thinking about the Love Nugget.  I had peeked in before heading to class and he was doing just fine but I felt so bad.  I still got in a good ride but left with about 15 minutes to go.  Of coarse, when I walked in to get him he was happily playing away and didn’t even notice I was there.  Go figure!  The funny thing is I worked as a preschool teacher for many years while in college and know that they are just fine once the parents leave and they become preoccupied with playing but I still feel so bad.

After the gym we came home and while the Love Nugget napped I finally made blackberry jam.  Yum!

I bought the low sugar or sugar-free pectin but hadn’t made it before.  If I wanted it to be sugar-free I had to use splenda which I don’t like to use so I just made the reduced sugar kind.  5 cups instead of 7 1/2, still a TON of sugar but oh well.  The hubby goes through jars of jam so fast!  I barely eat it and he doesn’t mind the sugar.

The Love Nugget and I enjoyed a yummy lunch when he woke up of a creation from last nights dinner.  Quinoa, the cherry salsa, chicken, avocado, goat cheese and some of this chopped veggie mixture from TJ’s.

It was pretty good and the Love Nugget liked it too!

Since it wasn’t too hot out today we took the White Coyote on a little walk to the park then home for an iced coffee and to get ready to go.  The hubby is coming home early so I can go watch Magic Mike with some friends.  I would usually wait until it came out on DVD but it seems like a fun movie to see with a group of girls so we’re making a night of it.  Plus, it will be nice to have some girl time!

Have a good night!

Leave a Reply

