7 Comments

Saying Goodbye

This weekend God was gifted the strongest, most talented, beautiful angel he will ever have.  My grandmother passed away peacefully early Saturday morning after over a month in the hospital and several weeks unresponsive.

My Grandma, Grandpa and the Love Nugget this past Christmas

As tough as it was to hear these words that I was praying so hard not to, I can’t help but feel a little relief.  You see, she was never going to be the same and she really was suffering.  As I mentioned in this post, she had made her wishes known and as difficult a decision it was for my grandpa to make, she did not want to live the way she was.

Today we spent the day with my grandpa which was good.  It was definitely hard to be at her house and not have her there.  To walk in and not see her in the kitchen cooking, putting together a puzzle or crafting away.  However, I think we all felt a little sense of peace that she was no longer in pain.  It’s going to be hard for my grandpa to recover from this loss.  My grandma did everything for him.  Paid the bills, did the laundry, cooked, cleaned, you name, she did it.  So not only is he feeling alone without her there, he is feeling extremely overwhelmed with the household chores.  I can’t even imagine losing not only your best friend but the one person that you depend on even more than yourself.   Luckily he has a dear friend who lost his own wife a few years ago that lives close by.  We will also be there for him as much as we can for as long as needed.  Like I said, I can’t even imagine what he’s feeling right now.

As much as I miss her and wish more than anything she were still here with us, I also know that she is in a wonderful place smiling down on us 🙂

Pinned Image

Knowing her, she would not want us to be spending too much time crying over her being gone.  She would be telling us that she is fine now and not to not be sad.  So I am doing my best to think of all the happy memories we had together.  The hubby and I were just down visiting them a few months back and I can still picture her in my mind rolling up little play dough balls with the Love Nugget and reading him books.  That is what I’m remembering 🙂

My other grandma passed away when I was just seventeen and I read this poem at her memorial service.

Pinned Image

It was so true then for her and it is so true now for my grandmother who just passed.

Love you grandma!!!

7 comments on “Saying Goodbye

  1. Oh, Giselle, this post was so beautiful. I absolutely love what you said- YES! She is your angel now, always with you and always watching over you! 🙂 I love your positivity in this hard time. Hugs!!
    xo

  2. May your tears soon fade and only the precious memories remain.

  3. Giselle, I am so sorry to hear about your loss. This post truly does show just how strong of a woman you are though. I know it may be a hard time, but continue thinking positive. Not only do you have an angel watching over you, your whole family does. Know your grandma will never let anything happen to you <3.

    Sending my love across the ocean .

Leave a Reply

