10 Comments

Marvelous in My Monday

Happy Monday!

Despite the loss of my grandmother this past weekend, we did have a few Marvelous happenings too.  So, as usual, I’m linking up with Katie at Healthy Diva Eats for another Marvelous in My Monday!

Friday we had a really fun night with friends who came over for dinner.  You may remember the Love Nugget’s little buddy P-man.

Well he came over and brought along his wonderful mom and dad too!  We always have a great time when hanging out with them 🙂

For dinner, I decided to make our favorite Chili recipe.  I’m not normally a huge chili fan but this one is REALLY good!

Turkey Chili (adapted from Bride and Groom First and Forever cookbook)

1 tbsp olive oil

1 medium onion, chopped

3 tbsp chopped garlic

3 tbsp chili powder

2 tbsp paprika

1 1/2 tbsp cumin

2 tbsp dried oregano

1 pound of ground turkey breast

1 pound ground Italian Turkey Sausage removed from casing

2 tsp sea salt

2 28 oz cans crushed tomatoes

1 can kidney beans, rinsed

1 can vegetarian barbecued baked beans

optional 1 tbsp minced canned chipotle peppers

Heat the oil in a large, heavy bottomed stock pot.  Add onions and cook for 5 minutes.  Add garlic and cook, stirring occasionally until tender.  Add the chili powder, paprika, cumin, and oregano.  Stir until the spices are well combined.  Add the turkey sausage, turkey breast and sea salt.  Increase the heat to medium-high and cook the meat, stirring frequently until cooked through, 8 – 10 minutes.  Stir in the rest of the ingredients, reduce the heat to low, cover, and simmer.  Stir occasionally for 1 hour.  Serve with whatever toppings you’d like 🙂

Usually the hubby and I like top our bowl of chili with corn chips (I know, so not something I would normally eat!) but I forgot to buy a bag.  So we enjoyed a choice of toppings 🙂

Along with the chili, we enjoyed a yummy salad that my friend made, some honey corn muffins and of coarse, vino!

Before and after dinner we enjoyed watching the boys run around and play together.

P-man liked the chili too!

The Love Nugget is so funny when his friends come over.  He runs around like a wild man showing them the White Coyote and all his toys.

He was so excited to have his little buddy over to play!

Another Marvelous thing that happened this weekend, was that we said farewell to our GMC Acadia.  We bought it less than two years ago and while it was only a 2010, we had taken it into the shop more times than we’ve wanted to.  This combined with the fact that we knew we would eventually want a new car, pushed us to trade it in.  Before we had the Acadia, I had a Nissan Maxima that I LOVED!!  We traded it in because it had a ton of miles from all my commuting to work and we needed a bigger car.  I missed my Nissan and when we started thinking about a new car, my initial thought was a Nissan again!  Well… I lucked out because we got another Nissan!

For some reason my photo wasn’t downloading so I had to borrow this picture from this website.  This is exactly what my new car looks like though 🙂

What was even more marvelous was that the Love Nugget was so good as we sat there trying to work out a deal for hours!  He even fell asleep and took a little nap in my arms which NEVER happens!

This week the weather is supposed to be high 70’s low 80’s so we’ll be taking advantage of this wonderful fall weather by playing outdoors!  Hope you’re enjoying the fall weather wherever you are 🙂

Have a Marvelous Monday!

QUESTIONS –

  • What Marvelous happenings occurred for you this weekend?
  • What was the last new car you purchased?

 

10 comments on “Marvelous in My Monday

  1. YAY for a new car, I mean SUV! I love it! Nissan is a good pick too! I guess you know since you had a nissan before too!

    How cute the kids are! Always fun to have buddies!!!

    Happy week to you girl!

  2. Awe, those two little stud muffins look so grown up sitting there together on the couch! Glad you and your company had such a wonderful evening together.

    p.s. i love love your car, especially the color,

  3. Loving that chili recipe, it sounds perfect!
    I’m getting a new car in just a few months. I’m embarassed to talk about my current car, but let’s just say the loan has been paid off since 2009.

  4. That chili looks awesome… I’m seeing chili everywhere again and I think it’s time to make some!
    Btw…Your son is adorable 🙂

Leave a Reply

