9 Comments

Thankful Thursday

Hello!

Hope everyone had a safe and happy Halloween!

Yesterday morning we rushed out the door again (although this time after breakfast not during!) to go to a special Halloween class at Stroller Strides.  It’s been awhile since we’ve been and the Love Nugget was a little confused with having to sit in the stroller and watch me workout.  He was especially bothered when I left him with the other kids and the instructor to do a short run.   Hmm… strange little attachment issue I witnessed yesterday.  I think it was just because it’s been so long since we’ve been.  Anyways…. we had a lot of fun despite the much colder temperatures!  It was a potluck meet-up so I made some Halloween themed monster mouth apple bites to share.

They were super easy and cute!  Luckily there were some left over so I could enjoy them for a snack later on 🙂  Everyone brought lots of yummy treats to munch on.

I might have splurged on one of those Aussie bites from Costco… if you’ve never had one, you’re missing out!  Not on the calories though.  130 per bite!  Holy cow!  Good thing I did 150 burpees before SS!

The Love Nugget was so excited to see his friends Ella and Ty.  This morning when I put his headband on for his costume, he was throwing a little fit.

Then I told him we were going to play with Ty and Ella and he stopped crying and said, “Ella? Ty?”  Then continued to repeat it until we finally met up with them at SS.  Too cute!

After some snacks, the kids ran around on the playground and made a monster mask craft.

He is so funny with the swing!  He loves it for just a minute then suddenly shows the sign for all done and repeats it over and over, “all done, all done.”  Seriously?  You just got in!

After the park we were pretty cold so we came home, showered and I made some hot tea while the Love Nugget napped.

Later, we decided to go out to dinner at a newer Mexican restaurant.  Well, newer to the area.  We’ve been to the one in downtown Sacramento before but it had been a very long time.  It was okay.  I’m always a little excited when the salsa is too hot for my liking because then I won’t eat too many chips and dip!  Ha!  This was the case tonight 🙂  I went with the Pepita salad for dinner which turned out to be pretty good!

Mixed greens, roasted carrots, orange slices, roasted pepitas, avocado, goat cheese and grilled chicken.

The Love Nugget  dressed in his “mini marathoner” costume again.  Before dinner we made a stop at his auntie Gigi’s where he did a little trick-or-treat for her and even had his first bite of candy.  See, I’m not that much of a Halloween Grinch 😉

After dinner we walked down to the fountain where the Love Nugget laughed and laughed at the colorful water shooting out.  He used to hate the fountain but is suddenly amazed by it and loves watching it.

Sorry for the blurry picture, iphone 😦

We came home and decided to catch up on some Modern Family episodes in bed while enjoying some hot chocolate with peppermint schnapps, pumpkin cookies and lemon cream pie almonds.

Seriously these almonds are to die for!   Unfortunately my tummy couldn’t handle all the sugar and I was only able to enjoy a few of the almonds but oh well!  It was a nice Halloween but I can’t wait for next year when the Love Nugget is old enough to actually trick-or-treat!

Today I’m linking up with Jessie over at Jessie Loves to Run.  She is this stinking adorable girl who lives in the far off land of Kuwait with her hubby.  I love reading her blog daily and she recently started this wonderful idea to host a “Thankful Thursday” link-up party!  Like she said, “we all have some things we are thankful for” so I’m going to join in on the fun today and list a few 🙂  Thanks Jessie for coming up with a great link-up party!

1. My mom

My mom is seriously one of the strongest, most independent, talanted women I know.  She has gone through a lot over the past few years and amazes me by her will to fight and succeed.  She has done so much for my brothers and I on top of just being a great mom and for that I am eternally thankful!

2. All the amazing people who are helping out over on the East coast with the disaster relief.

Source

I can’t imagine the fear, pain and suffering that everyone affected is going through.  The time and effort it will take to clean up is probably unmeasurable at this point and all those people involved are truly amazing!

3. My husband

I know I’ve said it before but I really did marry the most amazing guy!  He supports me and encourages me to take do things I’m interested in.  You will soon be seeing a change in my blog and all of it is happening because of the wonderful support from him.  He is not only a great husband, but an amazing father!

That’s it for today folks!  Since I spent so much time on our Halloween recap, I’ll save some thankful things for next time!

Hope you all have a great day!

QUESTIONS –  What things are you thankful for?  Did you dress up for Halloween?

9 comments on “Thankful Thursday

  1. Looks like you had a fun Halloween, especially ending your evening catching up on some TV with some yummy treats. I’m thankful for my mom and husband too! I’ll have to link up next week!

  2. Best Halloween costume EVER on your little dude! So doing this someday 🙂

  3. We had a fun Halloween! Keenan was so mesmerized with everything! I am thankful for my husband, Keenan and my mom!

  4. 1. Love Nugget looks adorable in his costume!
    2. I find it to be so adorable that as soon as you mentioned his two friends he stopped throwing a fit
    3. Thank you so much for linking up girl. You truly do have so many wonderful things to be thankful for. Your mom & husband both seem like the most wonderful, and warmhearted people ❤

Leave a Reply

