8 Comments

Fitness Friday

It’s Fitness Friday!

What are you doing on this wonderful fall day?  There’s a nice little breeze here that is creating the most pleasant fall feel.  The Love Nugget, White Coyote and I went for a little jog/walk this morning that really boosted my mood.  I woke up a little grumpy for some reason even though I slept in.  Guess it was the total lack of sleep and just a lot on my mind.  However, the walk with my boys really helped clear my head and lightened my mood.

Since I skipped my Fitmixer this morning, I just finished it outdoors while the Love Nugget ran around and played.  He thought it was pretty funny seeing me do Sumo Squats and tried to join in on the fun.

Speaking of exercise, let’s talk about our fitness for the week.

Saturday – 4 mile run

Sunday – Rest

Monday – Cycle class at 24hour fitness + fitmixer bootcamp

Tuesday – Fitmixer bootcamp

Wednesday – Cycle class and Piyo at 24hour fitness + fitmixer bootcamp

Thursday – Fitmixer bootcamp + 3 mile run

Friday – Fitmixer bootcamp + 2 mile run/walk

My favorite workout this week was by far my Monday Cycle class.  I’ve said it before but I LOVE this instructor!

On a different note, my newest obsession lately when I’m running or in the car is listening to Jillian Michaels Podcasts.  I’ve always been a Jillian Michaels fan and it’s a pleasant change from my played out itunes.

The other day she had a segment on foods that burn fat that I thought I’d share with you.  Most of us probably know that these foods are good for us but the added bonus that they fight fat as well is awesome!

Green Tea – No surprise here that green tea is good for us, but did you know that it has major fat burning powers?  Green tea has an antioxidant called catechins that combat free radicals and help promote healthy cells.  In order to see this fat burning effect you’ve got to down at least 5 cups a day.  Good thing it tastes good!  My favorite kind right now is this decaf mint green tea.  It’s delicious hot and cold!

Decaf Mint Green TeaSource

Omega-3 fatty acids – We pretty much know by now that omega 3’s are good.  So what foods are they in and why are they so good for fighting fat?  Salmon is a great food to eat when you’re trying to get some good Omega-3’s.  Along with exercise, eating salmon just a few times a week can help boost fat oxidation.   Good thing we love Salmon!  Here’s one of our favorite salmon recipes that we eat at least once a month!

This picture is from our last half marathon weekend and was our pre-race meal. Yum!

Pistachio Nuts – What? I always thought it was almonds so this was a pleasant surprise!  I love pistachios!   A recent study showed that these yummy nuts can improve symptoms of metabolic syndrome, such as blood pressure, insulin levels, and blood glucose levels.    Jillian throws in the fact that since you have to crack them open and get them out of a shell, your naturally going to eat less because it takes longer to get them into your mouth.  Added bonus!

Pomegranate – Yum!  I love pomegranate but their so darn time consuming!  These antioxidant packed seeds and their oil have been shown to help burn fat and reduce inflammation in the body.  Lots of store now sell the seeds alone so you can skip having to get them all out of the shell.  One of my favorite ways to eat them is to toss them into a salad or munch on them while sipping a pomegranate champagne mimosa.  Probably not the best fat fighting way to eat them!

So, we need to eat more of these foods for healthy fat fighting benefits!  Works for me since I love them all!

QUESTIONS – What was your favorite day of exercise this week?  What things do you do to get you out of a funk? 

8 comments on “Fitness Friday

  1. The kiddo is so cute trying to be like mom! I make a list of all the things I am thankful for when I am in a funk. It sounds cheesy, but it works for me and I have a lot to be thankful for!

  2. Awe look at little love nugget doing squats. Seriously, I can’t get over how adorable he is!!!

  3. Giselle, you definitely have the cutest son, by far!! And you’ve already gotten him into a super healthy nutrition plan…and sumo squats now?! I think you have a future health nut on your hands! 😉

  4. hi, I just found your blog, it is very well-written and inspiring! I went on my first run in almost a year (I broke my leg back in March, and was in a sort of funk before that!) As far as funks go, if they’re of the exercise type, a change of scenery is always a good thing. Trying different trails, or even moving your workout to the gym, trying out a new class, etc. As far as emotional funks go, the list of things to be grateful for is actually a great way! I do it myself quite frequently.

Leave a Reply

