9 Comments

Marvelous in My Monday

Happy Monday all!

Hope you had a marvelous weekend!  We did!  So of coarse I’m linking up with Katie over at A Healthy Diva Eats for Marvelous In My Monday!

Saturday I went for a nice run by myself!  That hasn’t happened in a long time.  Usually I’ve got the Love Nugget in tow so it slows my pace and can be a little tiring on my shoulders.  So it was really nice to head out solo 🙂

The rest of the day we ran some errands, grocery shopped, and played outside with the Love Nugget.

This morning the hubby got up earlier than usual and cooked us pancakes.  We picked up this box of pumpking mix at TJ’s the day before so we had to test it out.

They were pretty tasty but not the healthiest stats.  We also shared a big bowl of yummy fruit.  Great way to start our Sunday!  After breakfast, we headed out to meet some friends at the Farm and Barn tour.  A lot of the local farms were hosting a sort of open house and had all sort of activities and produce for sale.

The Love Nugget was dressed for the occasion in his overalls from Nani!

He was having so much fun sitting on the tractors and running around with his buddy.

They loved the tractor!

He looks like such a big boy in this picture!

While there were a ton of farms in the area we wanted to check out, we only made it to two.  The Love Nugget was tired and we wanted him to get in a good nap for pictures later in the day.  So we came home and enjoyed some lunch while the Love Nugget napped.  We stopped by Whole Foods Saturday where they were sampling this marvelous stuff.

I’m not normally a huge fan of egg salad because of the egg yolks and mayo.  This delicious dip/spread uses egg white and tofu rather than mayo so it has half the calories and tastes delicious!

After lunch I decided to whip up a batch of protein bites.  I saw a yummy new way to make these healthy snacks on Melissa’s blog and decided to give it a try with a few changes.

Chocolate Almond Protein Balls

1 cup of old-fashioned oats

1 tbsp cocoa powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 tbsp hemp seeds

1/4 tsp sea salt

1/3 cup unsweetened coconut

1/2 cup almond butter

1/4 cup of honey, maple syrup, or agave ( I used maple syrup)

Mix all ingredients by hand or in a stand mixer.  Roll into small balls and store in the fridge until ready to eat.

Yesterday afternoon we got all dolled up for our holiday photo session.  I know, Christmas already!  It was at a local park with lots of falling leaves and warm colors.  She always does such a great job and I can’t wait to see them!  While we were waiting, the hubby snapped this photo of the Love Nugget and I.

My little lover 🙂  Too bad he wasn’t actually loving on me and just before he took this he was actually pushing me away.  Little stinker!  Maybe our next nugget will be a cuddler 🙂  Not that we’re planning on one anytime soon!  Sorry G-parents!

Hope you all have a Marvelous Monday!

QUESTIONS – What pumpkin treat are you loving right now?  If you have a little one, are they a cuddler or more independent like my little nugget? 

9 comments on “Marvelous in My Monday

  1. Pumpkin pancake mix…yum! I so wish I had a Trader Joe’s near school! I’m definitely making those protein balls, such an easy and portable snack. Your son is so cute, too!

  2. I love that recipe! How cute is your little one! Such a sweet picture!

  3. I’m glad I inspired you to make your almond protein balls! They sound good! You really started the idea with your yummy pumpkin pie protein bites!

    My little guy is definitely independent, but he does like to cuddle every now and then, especially in the mornings, after he gets up. I definitely miss the more cuddly days when he was younger!

    • Everyone keeps telling me he will become more cuddly as he gets older but I’m not banking on it. He is slightly more cuddly in the mornings but only if I let him watch Sprout or Mickey which isn’t that often. Sometimes I’ll put it on just so he’ll cuddle up on the couch with me while I enjoy my coffee 🙂

  4. Mmm, that pancake mix from TJ is good. I bought some last year. You are so right about love nugget looking so grown up in that one picture. I’m not even his mommy, and I literally thought “awe, he’s growing up so quick” haha.

  5. I’m on a ‘ball’ kick lately. 😉 I’ve got to try yours!

Leave a Reply

