2 Comments

Fitness Friday #9

Happy Fitness Friday!

Hope you all had a wonderful week!  I’m so excited that the weather is finally cooling down.  Might even wear boots tomorrow!  I’m also super excited for a few days away with my hubby.  As much as I love the Nugget, and miss him when I’m gone, it’s good to get away for some mom and dad time 🙂

Yesterday the Love Nugget and I went to Nordstrom Rack to look for shoes for him.  When we got there, I realized I had forgotten my wallet.  Mom brain!  It’s about 15 minutes from our house so I didn’t want to drive back to get it, then back again so I figured I’d just browse.  Of coarse, the day I don’t have my wallet, I find stuff I want.  No shoes for him but I found two pairs for me!  I put them on hold, came home and got my wallet, then went back a little later.  I wore my new shoes this morning at the gym and loved them!

Yes, I have huge feet.  I normally wear a size 10 but always get a size bigger in gym shoes.  So they look extra big!

Now, on to fitness.  Here’s the run down of this weeks workouts.   I tried to add the details for a few of the workouts I did with Fitmixer but some were just way too long to put on here.

Saturday – Rest

Sunday – Anywhere 50-25-50 Circuit workout

Monday – Fitmixer Bootcamp “Blackjack”

Tuesday – Ran 2 miles at the gym, 24hour fitness bootcamp + Fitmixer bootcamp

“Tabata III” – Do each exercise 20 seconds on, 10 seconds off for 4 minutes (total of 8 rounds), rest one minute if you need, then move on to the next exercise.

Wednesday – Fitmixer bootcamp “Lying down on the job.” + 24 hour fitness spin class and  24 hour fitness Piyo class

Thursday – Fitmixer bootcamp

“Do a Burpee!”  (or 100!)

  • Plank Burpees – 10 reps
  • Jumping Jack Burpees – 10 reps
  • Right Side Burpees – 10 reps
  • Left Side Burpees – 10 reps
  • Push-up Burpees – 10 reps
  • *Repeat

Friday – ran 7.5 miles on the treadmill + Fitmixer bootcamp

“Stop, Drop, and Hold!”

  • Wall Sit – 2 minutes
  • Hand Stand against a wall (or Letter L Wall Stand) – 2 minutes
  • Bridge, heels up – 2 minutes
  • Hover – 2 minutes
  • V-sit – 2 minutes
  • *Repeat 2-4 times ( made it 3 before my wrists were screaming at me!)

This week I’d have to say my favorite workout was Blackjack.  It was the perfect mixture of legs and arms that worked my butt.  Although Wednesday’s Piyo class was really good and I was pretty proud of myself for doing 3 round of today’s workout which included the dreaded L-handstand.

I’m not going to lie, I had to modify it a little using my hubby’s workbench in the garage to push my feet against because they slide right off of the wall.  But… I still did it for a minute straight with added leg kick-ups!  That’s better than the first time I tried them 🙂

Usually on fitness Friday’s I like to discuss some health and fitness news or share some tips with you, but today I wanted to touch on something else.  Something that you might have thought yourself a few times while reading my blog.  Something that I know my friends and family often think because they’ve made comments to me here and there. I’ve heard comments from others after they read my post or hear that I’ve worked out for 3 hours in one day, such as, “your crazy!” Or “how do you have the time?”  Or even, “your obsessed.”  Well, just so you know, I’m not crazy, or obsessed with working out.  I do however enjoy it a lot and do it for several reasons.  Here’s a few reasons why I workout as much as I do,

  • I feel good when I’m working out
  • I feel even better when I’m finished
  • It gives me more energy
  • It makes me a better wife, mom and friend
  • It helps clear my head
  • It makes me happy
  • I like to push myself and accomplish new things
  • I sleep better
  • I feel less guilty about enjoying a glass of wine (or a few) some dark chocolate, or other indulgence
  • I like to sweat,  I feel like it’s my body’s way of cleaning out toxins and the massive amount of water I drink
  • Lastly, I’m not one of those naturally thin people who can eat anything and not gain a pound.  I have to work to keep the pounds off and the older I get, the harder it is to stay in shape.  So I work hard.

Those are my main reasons why I exercise as much as I do.  Like some of my friends and family, you might think I’m crazy.  But there are millions of people who exercise way more than I do and many who do it for the wrong reasons.  I exercise for myself.  Not for anyone else.  And I’m going to keep on doing it until my body tells me to stop 🙂

Pinned ImageSource

QUESTION – Why do you exercise?  What was your favorite workout this week? 

 

2 comments on “Fitness Friday #9

  1. LOVE your new sneakers! Such a great week of workouts too girl.. loving the fitmixer bootcamp on Friday. Such a great way to end an awesome run.

    Have a great weekend xo

Leave a Reply

