15 Comments

A day of eats for a 16 month old

Hi there!

Man!  This week is crawling by for some reason.  Maybe it’s because I’m super excited for this weekend.  Saturday, the hubby and I are sneaking away for a night away by ourselves!  As if that wasn’t cool enough, we are attending a wine event called “The Big Crush” in Amador County which is a lot of fun!  An adult weekend with just the two of us, can’t wait!

Alas, it’s only Thursday… The one plus about that is Grey’s Anatomy is on tonight!

Today I’m linking up with Brittany at A Healthy Slice of Life for Munchkin Meals.  This week we’re focusing on an entire day of eats for the Love Nugget.  That’s a lot of food for this little guy!

For as much as he eats, you’d think he’d weigh a little more than 23 pounds but that’s it!  I’m pretty sure he has my husbands speedy metabolism.  Lucky guy!

Here is a day of eats for this busy little guy.

Breakfast – Green smoothie, sweet potato pancake, and cottage cheese mixed with applesauce.

He doesn’t usually get to drink out of my cup but all his straw cups were dirty and I was being lazy.  He loves this cup though!

Today was a long day at the gym so when we got home he had a quick snack before going down for his nap.  He’s been loving these little granola bites I made him using this recipe.

Lunch –  Spinach and cheese tortellini with corn, nutritional yeast and coconut butter along with salmon, and edemame.

It’s funny, if we got to sushi, he LOVES the edemame.  At home, he picks at it, eats a few, throws some on the ground for the dog and pushes them around.  They taste exactly the same!

After he had eaten all his lunch, he ate a few slices of watermelon.

He loves watermelon!

Snack – (not pictured) around 3:00 he usually wants a little snack so he’ll have some apples, celery with peanut butter or an oat drop.

Dinner – Salmon, roasted butternut squash and leftovers from our dinner last night (quinoa, butternut squash, pumpkin skillet).

I forgot to snap a pic before he started eating.  He doesn’t usually wait to long after its put on his tray.  He loves his salmon which I usually bake with a little of Trader Joe’s 21 Salute seasoning (salt free).  Sometimes I’ll top it with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese or nutritional yeast.  I haven’t given him a ton of other fish yet.  We had some baked cod awhile back and he enjoyed the leftovers but that’s about it.

After he ate the majority of his dinner, he had a few chunks of watermelon.  Yum, yum!

QUESTION – Does your little one like salmon?  Have you tried any other fish? 

15 comments on “A day of eats for a 16 month old

  1. Those little goldfish are the cutest idea ever! That is so clever to use an ice cube tray to make something like that. Thanks for the great idea!

  2. Love the pictures of your little guy’s eats! Keenan loves salmon, but we don’t make it as often as we should! We have tried pike when we were in Alaska and he loved it, also trout and sea bass. So far, he has liked all of the fish we have given him.

  3. Great ideas! My 17 MO loves salmon. And too funny about the edamame – at a restaurant he will also eat it, but spits it out when I prepare it. Go figure!

  4. Hi! I just recently discovered your blog and I love it! We have a lot of similarities and interests! I am mom to a 19 month old little girl. She really likes salmon although we havent given her any other fish yet. I love a lot of your food ideas though… i may need to try some! My daughter is small too… just barely 22 pounds and she loves to eat!

    • So glad you found me! Yes, try away! I hope your daughter likes some! My little guy is a pretty good eater but can be a stinker with veggies so I’ve had to get creative. Plus, I love knowing exactly where his food is coming from 🙂

    • So glad you found me! Yes, try away! I hope your daughter likes some! My little guy is a pretty good eater but can be a stinker with veggies so I’ve had to get creative. Plus, I love knowing exactly where his food is coming from 🙂

  5. Those granola bites are adorable! My 10.5-month-old loves salmon, too. It was the first fish we gave him.

  6. What a healthy eater! I love the goldfish granola bars. I have to try that!

  7. Harper LOVES salmon! And pretty much any other fish.

    Speaking of fish…loving those granola bits snacks…looking forward to giving those a try 🙂

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

