1 Comment

Marvelous in my Monday!

Morning and happy Monday to you all!

I’m again linking up with Katie over at Healthy Diva Eats for Marvelous in my Monday!  Thanks for another fun linkup Katie!

So, what’s been marvelous around here lately?  Well, to begin with, my MARVELOUS hubby surprised me Friday with an awesome gift….

Photo: Love my hubby!  I've really been wanting a Keurig so he surprised me with one today!  Love him!

A Keurig!

I’ve been really wanting one lately and he took it upon himself to go out and get me one just because.   Such a sweet guy I married 🙂  So, I’ve been enjoying the wonders of Keurig and can’t wait to get my hands on some of the yummy K-cups.

Something else Marvelous that happened this weekend was the fun bridal shower I threw for my soon to be sister-in-law.  I really enjoy party planning but the best part of it all was how much fun she had and that everything turned out perfectly.  Also Marvelous about the shower, was that my two wonderful cousins came over early to help me out.  So thankful for them!

My Marvelous cousin and I 🙂

Of coarse I can’t forget how marvelous my hubby is when it comes to party planning.  He is always so helpful and woke up early with me to finish cleaning, setting up and to help out with the Love Nugget.  Again, such a great hubby!

In case you hadn’t heard, this weekend was the first day of fall!

The Love Nugget last year playing in the leaves 🙂

So exciting!  I LOVE fall and can’t wait for all things fall!  Pumpkins, baking, leaves, cooler weather, the list goes on and on.  I’m also excited to start working on my Fall Bucket list.  So many fun things I want to do this season!

Yesterday not only was it the first day of fall, but the weather was much cooler and slightly overcast which made me crave some fall comfort foods.  I didn’t really want to do a big grocery shopping trip yet so I rummaged through our cabinets for ingredients I could use.  Along with our pantry, I grabbed a few things while at Whole Foods for lunch yesterday.  One of which was this vegan, soy-free sausage that my sis-in-law said was delicious!

I also bought a medium-sized butternut squash and some organic kale.  From my pantry I grabbed a can of white beans, pearl barley, vegetable broth, onion, garlic and spices.  With those few ingredients I created this…

Vegan Sausage and Butternut Squash Soup

1/2 chopped onion

2-3 cloves chopped garlic

1 tbsp olive oil

1/4 cup dry white wine

1 cup uncooked Pearl Barley

1 can white beans

1 medium butternut squash

2 vegan apple sausage links (chicken apple sausage links would be yummy too!)

4 cups vegetable broth plus 2 cups water

3-4 cups chopped kale

1 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp dried sage

Salt and Pepper to taste

Using a knife, puncture butternut squash several times.  Microwave on high for 4 minutes to soften up.  Allow to cool slightly then peel, cut in half and dice up.  Microwaving makes it so much easier to peel and chop.  Trust me on this one, I’ve battled with many un-cooked butternut squash!

In a large dutch oven or heavy pot, heat olive oil on medium.  Add chopped onions and cook for a few minutes.  Add garlic and cook 3-5 minutes longer.  Add the white wine to deglaze the pan cooking for about 5 minutes.  Add in the remaining ingredients except the Kale.  Simmer uncovered for 45 minutes.  Add in kale then cover and cook for 10 more minutes.  Remove from heat then serve and enjoy!  If you don’t mind adding dairy, this is delicious with a little freshly grated parmesan cheese.

I thought it was the perfect first weekend of fall meal!

Something not too marvelous, the Love Nugget woke up with a little cold 😦  Poor guy!  Despite a runny nose, he’s in great spirits and has been playing happily all morning!  Let’s hope he get’s better quick!

Something else not so marvelous, Trader Joe’s has recalled its Creamy Salted Peanut Butter due to 29 reported cases of salmonella reported in 18 different states.  Yikes!  Check your jars people!

Hope you all have a Marvelous Monday!

QUESTION – Did you do anything fun to celebrate the first weekend of fall?  What’s your favorite fall comfort food?

One comment on “Marvelous in my Monday!

  1. Looks yummy I am going to have to try this!

Leave a Reply

