Leave a comment

Girls on the Run

Remember a few weeks back when I went and volunteered for the Girls on the Run kick off event?

Pinned Image

Well, I had such a great time and have been wanting to become more involved with the organization ever since.  So I looked into becoming a running coach this season.  Unfortunately, the teams meet two times a week from 3:30-4:30 and I don’t have anyone to watch the Love Nugget.  So I decided to become more involved in a different way.  Through the charity leg of Girls on the run called Solemates, I signed up to raise money for a race I will be running in October.  The neat thing is, you can sign up for any race you’d like then raise money for Sac Solemates.  I set a goal to raise $540 which would sponsor at least 4 girls through a season of Girls on the Run.  While participating in this program, the girls grades 3rd – 8th spend time after school engaged in physical fitness activities including running as well as character building, life lessons.  The program is designed to allow every girl to embrace their inner strength and celebrate all that makes them unique. With the amount of bullying in our society today I feel it is extremely important to give young girls an outlet to express themselves and feel important in our world today

Pinned ImageSource

I’m super passionate about organizations like this one because I love running and encouraging others to do so, and because this program combats the obesity problem we are having in our country today.  With budget cuts in schools physical education is one of the first programs to be cut.  The Center for Disease Control and Prevention recommends that students get 60 minutes of physical activity DAILY.  When I was teaching I was lucky enough to be in a school that was also passionate about exercise and held on to their physical education program.  Even still, students were getting 25 minutes two times a week.  That is nowhere near the recommended 60 minutes a day!  So when I learned about this program, I jumped on board to help make it possible for more girls to be able to participate.

If you’d like to contribute to this wonderful organization, you can do so by donating through this link.  Your generous contribution will go directly to funding young girls participation in a semester of Girls on the Run.  I will be raising funds for this program up until October 21st when I will be running in a 10k called The Hot Pink Fun Run.  So far I’ve already raised an amazing $560 which will help at least 4 girls participate in a semester of Girls on the Run.  Awesome!

Again, here is the link if you would like to donate to Girls on the Run through me 🙂

Thank you!

~Giselle

Leave a Reply

