1 Comment

Fitness Friday

Hi there!

Happy Fitness Friday all!

Hope you’ve all had a great week!

Here’s what my fitness week looked like.

Saturday – Interval run at the gym 9 x 400 meters for a total of 4 miles.  15 minutes of abs.

Sunday – Active rest – 3 mile walk with my boys 🙂

Monday – Fitmixer bootcamp workout

Tuesday – Fitmixer bootcamp, bootcamp at the gym

Wednesday – Fitmixer bootcamp, Spin class at the gym

Thursday – Fitmixer bootcamp, 4 mile run

Friday – Fitmixer bootcamp Tabata workout + added intervals

Since it’s fitness Friday, I wanted to begin with a discussion about something I sometimes forget about.  The importance of rest in your exercise routine.

Pinned Image

Source

You may have noticed that lately I’ve been exercising a little more than before.  When I was training for the half marathon, I avoided doing too much strength training because I didn’t want to be too sore for a long run.  Although strength training while running is important, I would do the basics so I wouldn’t feel too much pain during my long runs.  This led to a decrease in my muscle mass and eventually a slight increase in weight.  Just a few pounds but when your losing muscle and gaining weight that means your gaining fat.  So I knew I needed to get back into strength training.  I’ve done just that and have been loving it!  While I’m enjoying all the exercising I’ve been doing, I know that I can get a little carried away and forget about the need for rest days.  For example, last week on my one rest day, we went for a walk and I felt the need to run and get in some cardio rather than just enjoy the walk with my boys.  I had to hold myself back and remember that I’ve been working my body like crazy and a nice walk was just what I needed.

There are great reasons why you should include rest days into your workout routine.  One of which is that recovery allows for your muscles to rebuild themselves and your body to replenish its energy stores.   Your muscles tissues have been broken down during your workout and need time to rebuild themselves following training.  This doesn’t necessarily mean that you should take a day off after each day of training.  Usually you need 1-2 days of rest during a week of daily exercise.  This allows your muscles to rebuild, your energy to refuel, and your mind to get some mental rest.  Rest doesn’t have to be sitting on the couch all day watching T.V.  You can always include active rest into your routine which might be a mild yoga, going for a walk, going for a hike, foam rolling or a mellow bike ride.  For me, sometimes an active rest is exactly what I need to allow my body to get a little rest while still being moving.

Even though I’m well aware of how much rest is important for my body and mind, the hubby often has to remind me of this.  It’s easy for me to get caught up in my exercise routine and want to continue right on through my rest days.  I have to remind myself to slow down and enjoy some down time!

This is what I’ll be doing this weekend.  We have some family coming to stay the weekend for the bridal shower I’m hosting on Saturday.  We’ll be doing some wedding preparations this weekend as well so I’ll be enjoying that as my “rest” days 🙂  Looking forward to it!

Hope you all have a great weekend!

QUESTION – Do you make sure to include rest in your exercise week?

One comment on “Fitness Friday

Leave a Reply

