20 Comments

Marvelous in My Monday! (Giveaway ended)

Happy Monday!

I’m linking up again with Katie for Marvelous in My Monday.

Hope you’re Monday has been marvelous so far.  We’ve had a pretty busy but Marvelous Monday!  First of all, the tooth finally popped through! Hooray!  Which means we got a very marvelous full night of sleep 🙂  So it was easy to get up at 5:40 to get my workout on.  Fitmixer bootcamp workout today was pretty marvelous and I was a sweaty beast by the time I was done.  Might have been because the garage was extra warm today but just the same, it was good 🙂  The Love Nugget and I ate a quick breakfast then got ready and headed out to run some errands.  He used to be a pretty good little shopping buddy but my window of time seems to be getting shorter and shorter.  So I try to go when he’s full and content.

I wanted to share something with you that I’ve been enjoying quite a bit lately and think it’s just Marvelous!

Love Grown Granola!

The wonderful folks at Love Grown sent me a box full of yummy granola to try out.  I’ve been enjoying it on my smoothies, in my yogurt, as a snack and in a few new recipes I’ve created.  Their oats use natural ingredients to create some really tasty granola.  Their flavors include Sweet Apple Pecan, Apple Walnut Delight, Raisin Almond Crunch, Simply Oats and Cocoa Goodness.  They are all very tasty but I’d have to say my favorite so far is the Cocoa Goodness.  Yum!

I’ve been having fun experimenting a little with these granola’s in new recipes.  This one I came up with using the Cocoa Goodness Granola was to die for!

Fudgy Granola Protein Bars

1 cup Love Grown Cocoa Goodness Granola (any kind will work but this ones really good!)

3 tbsp vanilla protein powder

2 tbsp hemp seeds

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

3 tbsp flaxseed meal

1/4 cup nut butter (I used all natural peanut butter)

1/4 cup honey

3 tbsp coconut oil

1 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp chocolate chips

Line a 8X8 pan with parchment paper.  In a medium bowl, mix together the granola, protein, hemp seeds, flaxseed meal, salt and walnuts.  In a small saucepan, heat honey and coconut oil stirring frequently until the mixture comes to a rolling boil.  Continue boiling for about 3 minutes.  Remove from heat and stir in vanilla then add the honey mixture to the granola mixture.  Combine well then add in chocolate chips.  Pour the mixture into the parchment lined pan and press down firmly.  Place the pan in the refrigerator for at least 3 hours to firm up.  Cut into bars then store in the fridge.

Seriously, these were more like a chocolate fudge than a protein bar.  So good!

Since I’ve been in the fall mood lately.  I decided to try to create a pumpkin protein bar using some of the marvelous Love Grown Granola.

Pumpkin Protein Bars

1 cup Love Grown Granola Simply Oats (any kind will do)

1 cup Old Fashioned Oats

1 scoop protein powder

1 cup chopped walnuts

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

4 tbsp honey

2 tbsp coconut oil

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup canned pumpkin puree

Optional 1/4 cup chocolate chips

Line a loaf pan with parchment paper.  In a medium bowl mix together Granola, oats, protein powder, walnuts, pumpkin and pie spice.  Add pumpkin puree and vanilla to the oat mixture.  In a small sauce pan, heat honey and coconut oil.  Bring to a boil stirring frequently and simmer for 3 minutes.  Remove from heat and pour into the oat/pumpkin puree mixture stirring until combined well.  Pour into the lined loaf pan and refrigerate for 3-4 hours or until firm.  Cut into bars and store in the fridge.  I wrap mine individually in tin foil for the hubby to take with him to work 🙂

Both recipes are pretty tasty and I can’t wait to see what other Love Grown creations I come up with.  I’m thinking I’ll try a cookie next…

Here’s something even more Marvelous!  Love Grown Granola has offered to send TWO readers a package of their yummy granola!  How awesome is that!  All you have to do is leave a comment on this post telling me how you like to eat your granola.  Do you like it with yogurt?  Smoothies?  Or by itself by the handful?  What’s your pleasure?  For an extra entry, like A Healthy Happy Home on facebook or on Twitter and leave another comment telling me you did so 🙂 One more chance for another entry, like Love Grown Foods on facebook too!  Contest will end this Sunday the 23rd so make sure to leave a comment before then 🙂

QUESTION – Have you made any unique recipes using granola?  I used to always just use it in my yogurt, then discovered how good it was in my smoothies and since then have been experimenting with all sorts of creations!  It’s so versatile!

20 comments on “Marvelous in My Monday! (Giveaway ended)

  1. Both of these recipes are right up my alley! I love them! I will definitely be trying them soon! 😉

  2. Yummmm! Those bars look delish! I admit, I’m really boring with my granola – yogurt. I’ve been meaning to try some in my protein shakes though, and I’m very tempted to make these bars!

  3. I LOVE to eat granola on top of my protein smoothies! They add a delicious crunch to the drink and I sometimes like to eat my smoothies with a spoon. 😉

  4. I just started following you on Twitter!

  5. I liked Love Grown on Facebook too!

  6. I put granola in muffins that I make for Stone.

  7. I love granola on my yogurt! So yummy!

  8. I liked you on Facebook and am following you on twitter 🙂

  9. I liked love grown on Facebook and I’ll find them on twitter !

  10. I eat Love Grown granola by the handful…I always plan to mix it into yogurt or add almond milk, but I can’t help myself having some dry clusters first. It’s so good!

  11. I already like Love Grown on facebook!

  12. I think granola’s pretty awesome with milk, like a hearty cereal. But I have to say that your pumpkin protein bars look to-die-for! Double awesome that the Love Grown granola is gluten free.

  13. I love eating granola in my Greek yogurt for breakfast or just by itself, as a snack!

  14. Nothing is better than starting your day with granola on top of some yogurt 🙂

Leave a Reply

