3 Comments

Marvelous in My Monday!

Happy Monday!

It’s a Marvelous Monday kind of day!  So I’m once again linking up with Katie over at Healthy Diva Eats.  She’s pretty lucky to be off on vacay at the beach having a Marvelous Monday I’m sure!

As you may have read in yesterday’s post, I’m starting my Fitmixer bootcamp today and that itself is pretty marvelous!  Even more marvelous is the yummy protein and fit slim mix that came with the program.

I decided to do this program just to change things up a little bit.  When I did P90x, I loved the workouts and preset meals that were included.  I wanted something to follow that had structure, great workouts that I could do anywhere, and support from a nutritionist.  So far it seems that Fitmixer is going to have all that plus more!

My first Fitmixer breakfast was a bowl of cereal with unsweetened almond milk, and a scrambled egg white with 1 heirloom tomato slice and a slice of fresh mozzarella cheese (left over from dinner the other night).

After running some errands and having a fit mixer slim chocolate shake for a snack, I came home and busted out my first bootcamp workout.  Today was a fit test which was actually fun!

I’m hoping to make it to spin tonight for a little more cardio as well.  I’m loving spin right now!

This morning the Love Nugget had two things for breakfast that I think are pretty marvelous!  As I’ve mentioned, lately he has been a little stinker with some of this veggies.  While I’d like him to eat them how I prepare them, if he refuses, I’m trying to sneak them in elsewhere.  Beets are something that are touch and go with him.  He’ll eat them one night roasted with balsamic, but then not the next.  After boiling a huge batch of beets, he decided he didn’t really want them.  So I got creative…

Hot Pink Pancakes

1 large cooked and peeled red beet

1/3 cup applesauce

1 large mashed banana

1 egg

1/2 cup whole organic milk

1 cup of whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp baking powder

In a blender, combine beet, applesauce, milk and banana until well mixed.  Transfer to a bowl and add egg.  In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, cinnamon and baking powder.  Combine the dry with the wet and drop 1/4 cup at a time onto a heated and greased pan.  Flip after a few minutes then cool slightly before serving.  If you’d like to add a little more sweetness to these you can add a tbsp of stevia, tbsp of agave or 2 tbsp of sugar.  The Love Nugget enjoyed these just how they were!

Hot Pink Green Smoothie

1/2 cup packed organic spinach

1/2 cooked peeled red beet

1/2 frozen banana

1/2 tbsp hemp seeds (optional but an added healthy fat)

1 tsp agave nectar

2 tbsp of plain greek yogurt

1/2 – 1 cup of milk

Blend all ingredients together and watch your little one gulp it down!

How cute would these be at a little girls pink birthday party!  So healthy too!

What was so marvelous about these two things was the way the Love Nugget gobbled them both up!  Yay!  Glad he’s getting in some healthy veggies even if it’s not how I had originally planned.

I’m hoping to think up some more marvelous ways for him to get his veggies in this week.  I think part of his refusal to eat things right now is his tooth that is still bothering him.  Hopefully once that comes through we’ll be back to normal!

Hope you all have a Marvelous Monday!

~Giselle

 

 

3 comments on “Marvelous in My Monday!

  1. Great ideas, Giselle! Keep ’em coming! I think I have the world’s pickiest eater so these are very helpful. 🙂

  2. I love the pancake recipe; I’ll have to try it! My little guy can definiely be picky, so this is very helpful!

Leave a Reply

