12 Comments

Two yummy recipes and a giveaway!

Hi!

Have I got a great recipe for you today!  Well, I’ve actually got a few from the past few days but rather than overload you, I’ll focus on one at a time.  Okay maybe two. 🙂 First though, how’s your day going?  Great here!  To begin with, the Love Nugget slept in until 7:20 which meant I got to have a little quite time before he got up.  Not much since I slept in until 6:45!  I’ve been so exhausted lately from chasing our little guy around all day.  I barely get any reading at night done anymore!

Once he was up we started on breakfast.  Here’s where the yummy recipe comes in 🙂  I was planning on taking two classes at the gym so I knew I needed to fuel my body with something this morning.  However, nothing was really sounding that great and after my cup and a half of coffee, I wasn’t that hungry.  I was about to eat a Cinnamon Roll Quest Bar when the idea for a new smoothie recipe popped came to mind…

Oatmeal Cookie Green Smoothie

1 large handful of organic spinach

1/2 a frozen banana

1/4 cup old-fashioned oats

1 tsp of agave or sweetener of choice

1 tsp cinnamon

1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1 tbsp cashew butter (any nut butter would work fine)

Blend and enjoy!  Tastes just like a yummy oatmeal cookie 🙂

After our breakfast we headed to the gym where I got my sweat on during spin, then a PiYo class (yoga/pilates).  Felt great!  The Love Nugget was exhausted after playing for 2 hours and crashed as soon as we got home.  Which meant I had a chance to shower and make some delicious Gluten-free Chocolate Chip Banana Bread!

Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

2 cups of Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Baking mix

1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/4 cup nonfat greek yogurt

1/3 cup sucanat sugar (or regular)

1 tsp vanilla

1 egg

2 mashed bananas

1/3 cup carob chips or chocolate chips

1/3 cup chopped raw walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray a loaf pan with cooking spray.  Mix together all ingredients except for the baking mix, chocolate chips and walnuts.  Once they are combined, add in the Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Baking Mix.  Then fold in walnuts and chocolate chips.  Pour mixture into prepared loaf pan and bake for 35-40 minutes or until lightly brown and a knife comes out clean.  Mine was done at exactly 35 minutes.  Allow to cool on a wire rack then cut and enjoy!  I was pleasantly surprised with the moistness and flavor of this bread.  Perfect combination of banana, chocolate and walnuts.

This little guy thought it was pretty good as well 🙂

The reason I thought to try out a new Gluten-free recipe was because the wonderful people over at Bob’s Red Mill sent me a package with some really neat stuff.

I’ve been toying with the idea of cutting out some gluten and trying the paleo thing but I’m not sure I want to give it all up.  I love to bake especially during the fall/winter season when fresh baked breads and cookies are super comforting and delicious!  So I was thrilled to have the chance to review a few of their gluten-free products.  The package they sent me included Hulled Hemp Seeds, Guar Gum, Gluten-Free Baking Mix and Gluten-Free all-purpose flour.

Bob’s Red Mill specializes in Whole Grain products and has an extensive Gluten-Free line of foods as well.  I’m a huge fan of their Flax Seeds, Flax Seed Meal, Almond Meal, Coconut Flour, and Hemp Seeds (in this package!).  I seriously add the hemp seeds to so many things.  Smoothies, oatmeal, roasted veggies, banana/nut butter quesadillas, eggs, etc.  They are so good!  I’m still experimenting with the Xanthum and Guar Gum but these two products work as a binding/thickening agent for a lot of gluten-free recipes.  I have used the xanthum gum to thicken up a few smoothies that I wanted to enjoy in a bowl rather than a cup.

The really cool thing is that they also offered to send a lucky reader the same package that I received!  All you have to do is post a comment about any gluten-free foods/recipes you’ve tried and liked.  Contest will end Sunday at 12:00 p.m.

 

12 comments on “Two yummy recipes and a giveaway!

  1. That bread sounds absolutely wonderful. I bet it’s extra yummy warmed up with a touch of butter on top 🙂

    -arlene
    http://donteatdirt.com/

  2. Oh wow, both recipes sound delicious. Thanks for sharing hunnie ❤

    I made a gluten free pizza before, and wow.. it was delicious. My husband couldn't even tell the difference 🙂

  3. I am a huge fan of Bobs Red Mill. My fave item from them is their Gluten Free Chocolate Chip cookie mix. My non-gluten free family thinks they are the best cookies they have ever had

  4. There’s a wonderful gluten-free bakery around here and their muffins are pretty much the only muffins I will eat (:

  5. I love the chocolate chip banana bread! I’ll have to try it! My favorite gluten free recipe that I have made is a pizza with an almond flour crust!!

  6. I have an awesome recipe for gluten-free black bean brownies that is really delicious! The recipes you posted sound really good, too.

  7. I tried to make chocolate chip cookies this week using almond meal only instead of flour, but it didn’t work. The cookies were so flat. So, I actually just bought some of the Bob’s Red Mill GF baking/flour mix to try another go at GF chocolate chip cookies. So far, I’ve been pretty unsuccessful at GF baking, but I know it can be done! Gonna try your banana bread though…thanks for sharing!

    • Next time try adding a little more baking powder to the mix. I’ve found that when making things with almond or coconut flour you have to add just a tad more. Someone said there is a great Bob’s Red Mill GF chocolate Cookie mix!

  8. I’ve recently tried coconut flour – and I LOVE IT. You don’t need a lot to thicken up smoothies or create delicious microwave cakes – and it’s low carb and gluten-free.

    katherinedibello (at) gmail (dot) com

  9. They both look good. I wish I could have a slice of the chocolate chip banana bread now.
    Shuttermom77 at gmail dot com

  10. My mom has celiac disease so we love Bob’s Red Mill! I have discovered that you can substitute their oat flour in my brownie recipes to make them gluten free!

Leave a Reply

