1 Comment

August Foodie Pen Pal

Happy Fitness Friday!

Happy Labor Day weekend to you all as well!  Any fun plans?  We have a few things planned but pretty low key.  A birthday party Saturday, a visit to see my grandparents Sunday then finish painting the guest room on Monday.  I’m sure the weekend will fly by!

This week for workouts, I had hoped to do more but between the stitches coming out and my needy little guy, it just didn’t happen.  Here’s what my week consisted of.

Monday – Nike Fitness app workout and 45 minute elliptical

Tuesday – Boot Camp

Wednesday – 30 minute elliptical and abs

Thursday – Ran outside 5 miles

Friday – Killer Kardio workout.  (See below)

Source

I have been dying to try this Killer Kardio workout since pinning it on Pinterest.  I got all my stuff ready last night and set my alarm for bright and early so I could head to the gym and try it today.  I woke up a few times last night thinking I had missed my alarm.  I was really excited to try this one and it was a good one!  I added a 5 minute warm up jog at the beginning but other than that I followed it exactly.  I left drenched in sweat and feeling great!

While I loved this mornings workout, my favorite this week was the boot camp class I took on Tuesday.  Sometimes her classes can be too slow for me but this particular class was an awesome fast paced circuit with some added outdoor running!  Awesome!

So last month I joined the coolest thing ever!  It’s called Foodie Pen Pal and it was created by Lindsey over at the The Lean Green Bean.  It’s a super fun program that matches you up with a foodie pen pal each month.  You send a goodie box to a pen pal and you get a box of goodies in return!  How cool is that!

foodiepal stamp2 August Foodie Penpals Reveal Day

Here’s a few details about the program:

  • 5th of the month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. You will send a package to someone different from from whom you receive.
  • Your package is to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats!
  • The spending limit is $15.
  • The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe.
  • 15th of the month, you put your box of goodies in the mail.
  • Last day of the month, reveal the Foodie Penpal package you received in a post!
  • Open to bloggers and blog readers.

For more info check out The Lean Green Bean.

This month I got a wonderful box of goodies from my foodie pen pal Catherine!

So many good things that I love!  A bag of Flaxseed meal, a jar of ground cinnamon, a new to me dark chocolate bar and a jar of my favorite nut butter, Justin’s Maple Almond Butter!

She also included a recipe for Pumpkin Cookies that I can’t wait to try!

Being a foodie pen pal was so much fun and I’ve already signed up for September!

QUESTIONS – What was your favorite workout this week?  Have you participated in the Foodie Pen Pal program before?

One comment on “August Foodie Pen Pal

  1. That cardio workout looks awesome!!!! I’m pinning it right now 🙂

Leave a Reply

