5 Comments

What I ate Wednesday

Happy Wednesday to you all!

I’m linking up again with Jenn for another fun What I Ate Wednesday!  Or in this case, what I ate Tuesday.  Today is going to be a little off as far as eating goes for me.  I have to get some blood work done this morning so I’m on a fast 😦  Nothing but water for me until after 9:00am.  Then I’ll be eating something quick in the car on the way to the gym.  Hopefully…

Peas and Crayons

So let’s talk about yesterdays eats.

Breakfast was a strange recipe that I threw together last minute and turned out to be pretty good!  I had a very overripe banana and some quinoa that I needed to use.  So I decided to mix it together, add and egg, and create these yummy little pancakes.

The Love Nugget like them too!  Here’s the recipe in case anyone wants to try, I promise, they are good!

3 ingredient Banana and Quinoa Pancakes

1 egg

1 mashed ripe banana

1/3 cup quinoa

Mix together well and pour into a greased pan.  Cook flipping a few times throughout to ensure the inside gets cooked well without getting burnt.  Top with whatever your little heart desires.  I topped mine with a tablespoon of maple almond butter and it was delish!

After the gym, we ran a few errands so I snacked on one of these yummy Kit’s Organics bar that the wonderful people over at Clif Bars sent me.

I was so excited when this package arrived at my door.  I love Luna Bars and occasionally Clif bars but wasn’t all that thrilled about the ingredients.  These organic bars are certified organic, gluten-free, soy-free and dairy-free.

I tried the Chocolate Almond Coconut and it was super yummy!  The only ingredients in this bar are Organic Dates, Organic Almonds, Organic Unsweetened Chocolate, Organic Coconut, Organic Virgin Coconut Oil, Sea Salt.  That’s my kind of bar!  I’ll be purchasing more of these for sure!  Luckily, I just found them at our local Whole Foods and am sure they’ll be popping up in more stores soon!  Keep your eye out folks, these are good!

The Love Nugget took a long nap and I lost track of time while browsing Pinterest.  Before I realized, it was 2:00 and my stomach was grumbling!  Luckily the Love Nugget was awake from his nap so I whipped him up a plate of pesto pasta, corn, peas, and turkey breast.

Once the Love Nugget was eating happily, I made myself a salad with some spinach, quinoa, roasted cauliflower and fennel, goat cheese and carrots.

I munched on a few frozen grapes after to satisfy my sweet tooth.

After some super fun play dough play time, the Love Nugget and I shared an apple as a snack.

For some reason, apples make me feel even more hungry!  So I also had a protein bite.

This batch had a pouch of Chocolate Coconut butter along with almond butter, dark chocolate chips and orange favored cranberries.  Pretty good!

For dinner tonight I had BBQ chicken and Veggies written down on our meal plan.  But… I was more in the mood for fish so we had grilled halibut topped with a mango/avocado salsa and a gorganzola pear salad.

It was so good!  We haven’t had halibut for awhile and both love it!  While the halibut was delicious, this salad is one of my favorites and is so simple to throw together!

Pear and Gorgonzola Salad

3 cups organic spinach or mixed green salad

1/4 cup gorgonzola

1 diced pear

1 /3 cup honey toasted walnuts (see below)

For dressing –

1/2 tsp dry mustard powder

1 clove chopped garlic

dash salt and pepper

juice from 1/2 lemon

2 tsps honey

1/4 cup balsamic dressing

1 tbsp olive oil

Whisk together all ingredients well and 2 – 3 tbsp over the salad.  This recipe makes about 1/2 cup so you will have left over to store in the fridge 🙂

Honey Toasted Walnuts

1/3 cup chopped walnuts

1 tbsp organic honey

Heat a small frying pan over medium heat.  Add walnuts and honey.  Cook for about 5 minutes or until honey is bubbly and walnuts are toasted stirring every so often.

So easy and so good!  Every time I make this salad it gets rave reviews and it’s perfect for fall!

QUESTION – What’s your go to salad recipe?

5 comments on “What I ate Wednesday

  1. Very yummy eats (and your love nuggest is ADORABLE).

    I love your spinach salad so many delicious and wonderful things in there.

    Happy Wednesday to you 🙂
    http://www.mynaturallyfrugalfamily.blogspot.com

  2. I love all your eats! They all look sooo good! And the pancake recipe is genius! And I am in total agreement with you…..apples always leave me feeling hungry after too, so I pair them with some almonds or nut butter! Have a great day and thanks for sharing! 🙂

  3. Everything looks so amazing! I love all the fresh and natural ingredients you eat! I’m dying to try those clif bars! I agree with on the funky ingredients but these sound amazing and I am certainly a sucker for a good bar!

  4. Ahhh Chocolate, Coconut, AND Almond wrapped up into one bar?!?! That sounds like heaven 🙂 I totally feel the same way about apples. Maybe its because the fruits naturals sugars activate those digestive enzymes? I always have to eat them with something else to keep my tummy from rumbling!

  5. What a great deal of meals. We were supposed to have fish last night, but ended up having tacos instead. Somedays you just gotta change up the original plan :).

Leave a Reply

