6 Comments

Munchkin Meals

Time for another fun linkup!

Today’s is with Brittany over at A Healthy Slice of Life.  Love her blog and her adorable munchkin!  Today’s segment of Munchkin Meals is a focus on Quick ‘n Easy Eats.

Quick and easy eats in this house is getting to be a little more complicated than before.  As the Love Nugget gets older, his taste buds are changing and developing more.  Which means he doesn’t “love” all the foods I make for him like he once did.  Basically, I had the best little eater up until a few months ago.  Now, plain veggies are a no no and his taste for food changes daily.  One day he’ll eat my spinach pesto one day he won’t.  So I’m constantly creating new recipes with hidden veggies so that I know he’s at least getting them in somewhere 🙂

One of my go to quick healthy foods for the Love Nugget are Oat drops.  He loves these and the possibilities are endless here.  A few recipes he enjoys are,

Apple Cinnamon Oat Drops

Zucchini Oat Drops and the newest with a hidden veggie,

Green Peanut Butter Oat Drops

1 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 large mashed banana

1 cup packed organic spinach

2 tbsp unsweetened applesauce

3 tbsp organic whole milk

1/4 cup organic peanut butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  In a bowl, mix together the oats, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.  In a food processor or blender, puree spinach with applesauce and milk until chopped well.  Add that mixture to the oat mixture and mix in peanut butter.  These will not be very sweet so if you would like to add a sweetener I suggest agave or a few tablespoons of brown sugar.  Bake for 15 minutes or until lightly browned and cooked through.  Allow to cool before giving to your little munchkin!

Another freezer staple we often have around here are veggie patties.

This is my go to recipe but I’m constantly taking whatever veggies I have in the fridge, steaming or baking them, pureeing them and mixing them with quinoa, cheese or whatever else I have on hand then baking them.

Another quick ‘n easy meal we use often is green smoothies.  The Love Nugget LOVES his green smoothies and it’s a great way to get fruits and veggies in at once!

I’m learning that the older he gets, the harder it is to stay away from processed foods because, they are just so easy!  I’ve found a few things that are a little more natural that I give him for snacks.

Funny, he won’t eat fresh or frozen peas but dried with a little salt, loves them!  He’s also a huge fruit lover, like his mamma, and snacks on organic blueberries all the time.  Between the two of us, we go through a huge container in less than a week!

Most the time, if it involves food, he’s a pretty happy little guy 🙂

 

QUESTION – What are your go to foods for your little one?  If you don’t have kids, what was your favorite food as a child?

6 comments on “Munchkin Meals

  1. What a cutie! Looks like he’s a good eater!!! My kids were SO picky and they still are, I really wish I would have done things differently when they were babies, I didn’t know what I know now.

  2. Hey is so adorable! And that recipe is definitely a keeper! Love all the healthy ingredients! 🙂

  3. Love his smoothie ‘stache! I am so interested in these oat drops. We will definitely have to try them!

Leave a Reply

