4 Comments

Genetically Modified Food

Happy Friday folks!

Any fun plans for the weekend?  The only thing we really have planned is a get together with friends tomorrow.  It should be a lot of fun and we are really looking forward to it.  A lot of the Love Nugget’s little buddies will be there so it will be a good time to watch them run around.

For those of you that were wondering, yesterday’s minor “surgery” (if you want to call it that) went just fine!  I wasn’t sure what to expect but it was pretty simple and fast.  Basically I had a small growth on my knee that appeared during pregnancy that they removed and a sample taken from a birthmark.  So really no big deal.

Even though I was done earlier than expected, I headed straight home since I had shorts on and the band aids were the furthest from pretty…

Last night for dinner we had a recipe that I made up that didn’t turn out that great.  I mixed together a few herb laughing cow wedges and hummus.  I stuffed that inside two chicken breasts, spread more of the mixture on top and then sprinkled panko bread crumbs over.  I baked it along side some roasted veggies.  The veggies turned out great, the chicken, not so much.  The hubby thought it was okay so maybe it was just me.

This morning I caught a little bit of the news which is pretty rare around here.  There happened to be some information on something I’ve been hearing more and more about.  Proposition 37 and GMO’s (GE’s) in foods.  Proposition 37 would require clear labeling of GE ingredients on food labels. Source

This weekend I was discussing GMO’s with a friend and they had no idea what they were.  So I thought I might pass on a little information that I’ve found about GMO’s.  Keep in mind that I am no expert on this topic and with limited research on the effects of Genetically modified foods I am not necessarily for or against it.  However, I do think that full disclosure on food labeling is something I agree with!  Don’t you want to know what you’re putting in your body?

Pinned Image

What are GMO’s    

“GMO stands for Genetically Modified Organisism.A genetically modified food is a plant or meat product that has had its DNA artificially altered in a laboratory by genes from other plants, animals, viruses, or bacteria, in order to produce foreign compounds in that food. This type of genetic alteration is not found in nature, and is experimental.

The health risks of genetically engineered foods are unclear. Recent studies show that genetically engineering food can create new, unintended toxic substances and increase allergies, cancer risks, and other health problems, especially for children.”  Source

Are GMO’s safe to eat?

“Contrary to industry claims, GM foods are not properly tested for human safety before they are released for sale.  In fact, the only published study directly testing the safety of GM food on humans found potential problems.”  Source

Hmmm… so how do we know if we are eating GM foods?  Proposition 37 folks!

How to identify foods that are GMO processed?

Eat organic foods.  Organic foods are not permitted to contain GMO’s so the more organic foods you eat the less GMO’s you’ll be getting.  Try to stay away from processed foods.  Again the more organic your food is (meaning being made at home), the less likely you are to be getting a ton of GMO’s.  For example, purchasing a premade microwave dinner compared to cooking your own at home.  Source

There is a lot of research out there about GMO’s and some of it is a little shocking.  As with most Propositions there are a lot of arguments for and against it.  Do the research and decide for yourself where you stand.  While I was aware of some of the dangers of eating GMO foods, I was pretty shocked at a few of the scientific studies found in this document.

Just a few…

  • Rats fed GM tomatoes developed stomach ulcerations
  • GM potatoes fed to rats caused excessive growth of the lining of the gut similar to a pre-cancerous condition
  • Rats fed insecticide-producing GM maize grew more slowly, suffered problems with liver and kidney function, and showed higher levels of certain fats in their blood.  Source

It was interesting to me to see the companies that are for and against identifying GE ingredients on packaged foods.

Source

 It definitely makes me think twice about some of these companies that use the term “natural” for their products.  If they are all natural (non GMO) you would think they wouldn’t mind if it was listed on their nutrition facts.   Hmmm…

QUESTION –

What are you thoughts on Proposition 37 and Genetically Modified foods?

4 comments on “Genetically Modified Food

  1. Thank you SO much for writing about GMO’s. You wouldn’t believe how many people do not know what they are. I do my best to educate them. Even the people who work at the grocery stores!

  2. Thank you for posting this – such an important health topic! I do not like genetically modified food at all…..

  3. Some of the companies opposing proposition 37 are surprising to me…. Santa Cruz Organics? Really? And Kashi? Wow……

Leave a Reply

