1 Comment

Holy busy day!

Phew!  What a day!

I have very few pictures to share with you today because I’ve had no time to take any.  Crazy busy day!

Yesterday, a friend told me that one of our local healthy grocery stores was closing and everything was 30% off.  Since I was going to the grocery store anyways, I headed over there.  It was a little overwhelming because there were tons of people, the Love Nugget wasn’t being a great shopper, and I didn’t really have a good list.  I did manage to come home with lots of bulk items.

I saved a ton of money and last night did  a little pantry inventory and went back this morning nice and early to avoid the crowds.  I stocked up on nut butters, tahini, some organic frozen berries, organic frozen veggies, some more bulk items, and beer.  I managed to save $35!

I also made a quick stop at Michael’s to get spray paint for a craft I’ve been working on.  Since Nordstrom Rack is right next door, we had to make a stop there too… My quick little outing turned into a few hours and with so much to do at home, I wasn’t able to get a workout in 😦  Luckily the Love Nugget took a nice long nap while I made hummus, cooked quinoa for a salad, made turkey meatballs with zucchini, cut up veggies, baked some gluten-free cookies, and baked zucchini muffins.

When I was finished with all that it looked like a bomb had exploded in our kitchen.  Cleaning time!

We are picking up my best friend and her husband from the airport here in a little bit so I’m REALLY excited about that.  (pictured below with the hubby and I in Monterey a few years ago.)

They live in Seattle so we don’t get to see each other all that often.  They are both running the race with us this weekend.  Fun!

We don’t have much planned for this evening, pizza and catching up.  Hopefully a short run in the morning and then tomorrow evening our other really good friend is flying in from San Diego.  We will also be meeting one more great friend in Healdsburg on Saturday.  It should be a really fun weekend with the six of us!

The Love Nugget will be spending the weekend with Grammie (my mom) here at home.

The Zucchini muffins turned out pretty good so I wanted to share the recipe with you 🙂

We had one large zucchini from our garden so I shredded and squeezed a lot of the water out of that.  Then I used some of it for the muffins and some for the meatballs.

Banana Zucchini Muffins

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup all purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup shredded zucchini

1 egg

1 mashed banana

1/3 cup applesauce

1/2 cup milk

1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix the dry ingredients together in one bowl and the wet together in a separate bowl.  Add the wet to the dry and mix well.  Pour into a greased muffin pan.  The recipe could make 12 but I made 9 large muffins instead.  Since there was no sugar added to these muffins they aren’t very sweet.  You could serve them with some jam or nut butter or if you wanted you could add 1/2 cup of sugar to the recipe.

The Love Nugget enjoyed them without the sugar and didn’t notice the zucchini one bit!  Just another way to sneak in some veggies 🙂

We are off to the airport now!  Have a great night!

~ Giselle

One comment on “Holy busy day!

  1. Jacob loves bananna zucchini muffins! Good stuff! Have a good race this weekend 😉

Leave a Reply

