2 Comments

Fitness Friday and This or That Survey

Happy Fitness Friday everyone!

It’s time for another installment of Fitness Friday!  I would love to hear what some of you did for exercise this past week.  Did you load up on cardio?  Stick to strength?  Or find a happy balance between the two?  Here’s what my week looked like…

Sunday – 2 mile walk with the family, 30 minute elliptical

Monday – 1 mile warm up run on treadmill, strength training (arms), 60 minute spin class

Tuesday – 3 mile run on treadmill, Stroller Strides

Wednesday – 5 mile run outside, 15 minutes of abs

Thursday – rest

Friday – 5.5 mile run outside, 15 minutes of abs

Saturday – (hasn’t happened yet, Color Run!)

This week and next is a little more mellow as far as running since our half marathon is next Sunday!  Excited to run but more excited to see some of my besties 🙂

My favorite workout this week was spin on Monday.  I’m so happy that I’ve been reunited with the my favorite spin instructor and it’s been feeling great to get back on the spin bike!

Since it’s Fitness Friday, I thought I’d partake in this fun little survey I saw over at Your Trainer Paige.

This or That?

1.  Run/workout in the heat and humidity or freezing temps and snow?

I’d have to say heat and humidity.  Even though I don’t love running in the heat, I hate running in the cold.  My extremities freeze and my nose drips like a faucet!  So annoying!

2. Have washboard abs or flat abs?

Umm, I’d pretty much take either!

3. Dr. Oz or The Doctors?

I can’t say that I’ve ever seen the Doctors so I’d have to go with Dr. Oz.  Every once in a while I’ll catch an episode and he’s always got some pretty helpful information.

Although I do think that The Doctor’s Travis Stork is much easier on the eyes than Dr. Oz 🙂

4. Cardio or strength?

I think I’m more likely to choose cardio over strength but I like to do a balance of both.  Right now since I’m training for a half, I don’t do as much strength training because I don’t want to be sore when running.  That’s the worst!

5. Cravings: Protein or carbs?

Proteins even though I don’t really eat meat!  I get most of my carbs through veggies, quinoa and sweet potatoes.  I eat very little bread or crackers but love me some Wheat Thins!

6. Jillian Michaels or Bob Harper?

I fell in love with both of them when we used to be obsessed with The Biggest Loser.  To hard to choose!

7. Frozen Yogurt or Ice Cream?

Froyo al the way!  I’m so obsessed right now!  I do try to do the healthier banana froyo when I’m at home 🙂

8. To train: Upper body or Lower body?

I hate my lower body being sore so I opt for upper body which is pretty lazy of me.

9. Protein powder or food with protein?

Again, since I don’t eat a lot of meat I have to get protein from other sources.  Protein powder is good but I try to get my protein from natural sources like quinoa, nuts and beans.  Right now I’m loving Sunwarrior Vegan Protein Powder.

10. Lunges or squats?

I’d have to say squats.  Lunges kill me!  Especially the next day!

11. Sweet or salty?

I used to be more of a salty girl but ever since I was pregnant I’ve been more of a sweet girl.  I try not to eat real sugar but enjoy stevia or naturally sweetened foods.  Although I wouldn’t turn down some homemade goodies with “real” sugar 🙂

Homemade Peanut Butter Cups

12. Workout attire: cute or comfy?

Comfy for sure!  Tank and capris are my workout clothing staples.  Most my tanks are from Old Navy or Forever 21.

13. Body Pump or Heavy lifting?

Body Pump!  I’ve only taken the class a few times but I really like it and it goes by so fast!

14. Yoga or Pilates?

Yoga.  I’ve never taken a Pilates class but have a coupon for a free workout download and am going to find a Pilates one I can do at home.  I’ve heard good things 🙂

15. Nike or Adidas?

Nike all the way.

Pinned Image

16. Running on the treadmill or outdoors?

It depends on my mood.  I love running outdoors, but sometimes I just want to watch a movie on T.V. while running on the treadmill and zone out.  I also like to do my interval workouts on the treadmill because it’s easier.

17. Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s?

I LOVE Whole Foods but most often do my shopping at Trader Joe’s.  Don’t know if I could live without either of them!

18. Summer or Winter Olympics?

Summer Olympics!  For some reason they are so much more entertaining to me.

19. Exercises classes or Exercise videos?

While I like doing classes, I also like the ease of exercise videos.  Sometimes when you’re lazy and don’t feel like leaving the house, an exercise video is the perfect answer.  My favorites are P90x and Insanity!

20. Steamed veggies or roasted veggies?

I love them both!  When I’m lazy or want some quick veggies I’ll do steamed but when I’ve planned it out I’ll do roasted.

Choose a few “This or That” questions and post your answer.  Also, share your favorite workout from the week!  I’d love some fresh ideas 🙂

Have a great Friday!

2 comments on “Fitness Friday and This or That Survey

  1. New follower here! Loved your survey. May I do it on my blog?
    http://mylifewithweighloss.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

