Leave a comment

Last long run…

Yeah!

We finished our last long run this morning before our race in a few weeks.  12 miles down and I felt great!  I actually could have kept going which is good because we’ll still have 1.10 miles more to do on race day.  The hubby and I were able to do our run together this morning thanks to the Love Nugget’s Auntie Gigi (my cousin) and Uncle Tony (her bf).  We dropped him off at their house around 8:00 and then took off on our run from there.  We finished in 1 hour and 47 minutes with a few stops at stoplights.  So hopefully we’ll be able to meet our goal of finishing in under 2 hours 🙂  My last half I did was 5 months after I gave birth to the Love Nugget and it was my slowest yet, 2 hours and 5 minutes.  So I’d like to at least do better than that.  Just a little personal goal.  However, since this is the hubby’s first half marathon, I want to finish with him so that will come first 🙂

What I’m really looking forward to right now is this…

The Color Run is next weekend!
I’ve heard nothing but good things about this race and it fit perfectly into our training schedule with a 3 mile run on the calendar for next weekend.  The hubby and I will be running it with a few other people from my Stroller Strides group.  Fun!
After our run, we came home cleaned it up and talked about taking the Love Nugget to the Zoo or the fair.  But… that would include a lot of walking and our legs were tired.  Plus the Love Nugget didn’t wake up until 1:00 so we decided to pack a lunch and find a park to eat and play at.  We drove around searching for a park that wasn’t full for a while.  I think we went to three parks before we finally found a nice little park in a neighborhood that was completely empty.  We spread out our food at a picnic table and enjoyed a nice peaceful lunch followed by some play time.
Kids play equipment is so much cooler than when we were little!  This thing that the hubby is on was pretty fun!  It was a good core workout too.
After we played for a while, we had to go get some froyo to cool down 🙂  I’m a little obsessed with frozen yogurt lately.  I like to find places that have a lot of different flavors and offer a few sugar-free or non dairy options.  The hubby likes his standard vanilla with Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup.  Today’s froyo spot did not have the Reese’s so he had to settle for vanilla with Butterfinger.  I got low fat, low sugar coconut with coconut flakes, blueberries and a few dark chocolate covered espresso beans.  Always got to throw in some chocolate!
It was good and the Love Nugget ate quite a bit of it.  He loves froyo too so I’m glad I got the lower sugar option!
Now we are home relaxing and reading books.  The Love Nugget is such a book lover, so cute!
Have a good Saturday night!
Leave a Reply

