Leave a comment

Our First Food Truck Experience

Hey there!

Hope you are all having a great weekend so far!  Even though I don’t work a normal 9-5 job weekly, I still look forward to the weekends and spending time with the hubby.  And… the weekends still seem to fly by.

After our runs yesterday, we were pretty beat.  We had talked about heading to the lake but since it was going to be 100 degrees, we didn’t think it was the best idea for the Love Nugget.  Plus we haven’t gotten him a life jacket yet.  I happened to see a notice for a food truck festival in downtown Sacramento called the Sacto Mofo.  It was being held under the overpass where the Sunday morning farmer’s market is and it stays nice and cool.  Both the hubby and I had never had a meal from a food truck before and are always hearing about all the neat gourmet food trucks out there so we decided to give it a shot.

We arrived and were sort of amazed with the amount of food trucks filling the parking lot.  Along with the food trucks was a live band, a beer garden and some booths with local vendors set up.  Pretty cool!  We walked around scoping out the variety of grub available.  I was on the hunt for something healthy and was thrilled to see a fresh juice truck!  Sweet!

As I was ordering us a Mother Juice to drink while browsing the food selections, I noticed they also served up fresh coconut water out of a real coconut!  Sold!

Ummm yeah, it was the best coconut water I’ve ever had!  The Love Nugget was a big fan too.

Sorry for the blurry picture!

We cruised around and decided on some food to try.  The hubby found a truck that supposedly had the best sweet potato tater tots around.  At least he thought that he had tasted them before but wasn’t sure they were they same ones.   I’m not a big tater tot fan but love sweet potatoes so I figured I’d give them a shot.  I was pretty full of juice and coconut water but the hubby convinced me that after running 11 miles I needed more substance in my stomach so I also ordered a grilled cheese.  Not just any grilled cheese though, this one was called the Prius and was stuffed with granny smith apples, double cream brie, organic local wildflower honey, and toasted almonds.

Sounded pretty tasty to me!  The tater tots turned out to be nothing special.  Not sweet potatoes and just tossed with garlic and rosemary.  I’ve come to realize that I don’t really like rosemary all that much.

They looked pretty though.

The Prius was delicious!

I wish I hadn’t been so full of liquids so I could have enjoyed the whole thing!

The hubby settled on a burger from the Squeeze Inn truck.  Evidentially, these burgers are quite famous and while he’s always wanted to try one hadn’t had the chance until now.  It was covered with cheese, literally!

The Squeeze Inn was actually featured on Guy Fieri’s Diners, Drive-ins and Dives on the Food Network.  Kind of cool!

We were going to make a stop at a gourmet popsicle truck but the Love Nugget needed a changing and we were pretty stuffed.  We agreed that our food truck experience wasn’t all that we had hoped for.  While I like my grilled cheese, I was hoping there would have been a truck that served up some good Vegan or Veggie food.  Most the options were just fried foods which I am not a big fan of.  Although I did thoroughly enjoy my coconut water!

 

Leave a Reply

