Leave a comment

Gazpacho!!!

How’s your Friday going?  We made it to SS for a workout then I had good intentions of taking the Love Nugget to Skyzone for their toddler jump time but… Nordstrom’s anniversary sale was calling to me.  It was the first day and since I missed the preview sale because we were in Mexico, I decided to pop in and see if I could find some new running shoes.  I was going to be real quick but… they didn’t have the ones that I wanted in the color that I wanted so after trying on several different pairs I settled on the a new pair of Asics.

It’s funny because I always want to try different brands of running shoes (Brooks is supposed to be the best), but end up going with Asics.  Guess my feet know what they like 🙂  Although my last pair were the Nike Air Max.  They’ve treated me well but after 9 miles my feet start to ache a little.  So we’ll see how these Asics do.  Hopefully I can break them in pretty good before the half marathon in a few weeks.

I think the Love Nugget knew he was missing out on something fun today.  He is usually a pretty good shopper but today I was faced with this…

Notice the large purple stain on his shorts.  It’s not often that he has those squeeze packages of pureed veggies and fruit.  While I was trying to try on some shoes I handed him one and turned away for a second.  And it ended up all over his lap.   Fun!  Okay, time to go!  Quick stop to grab a delicious iced coffee though.

For Jenzelle… or Giselle.  I always crack up at what they write on my cups.  Very rarely do they ever get it right!

By the time we got home the Love Nugget was fast asleep so I got to work on something I’ve been dying to make all week.  Gazpacho!

Summertime Gazpacho

3 cups chopped tomatoes, roma or plum work best

1 diced bell pepper

1/2 cup diced red onion

1 cup diced celery

1 cup diced carrots

2 cloves garlic chopped

1/4 cup fresh parsley or 1 tbsp dried

1/3 cup red wine vinegar

2 tbsp olive oil

5 cups vegetable juice

salt and pepper to taste

Roughly chop all the veggies.

In a food processor, pulse the tomatoes to the consistency you would like them.  I like my gazpacho slightly chunky so I don’t puree them all the way.

If you like yours blended more, puree them longer.  Pour the tomatoes into a large bowl.  Puree half the veggies until finely chopped.  Add to the tomatoes.  Pulse the rest of the veggies along with the red wine vinegar, olive oil, parsley, salt and pepper.  I didn’t pulse these as long as the previous batch of veggies to add a little more chunkiness to the soup.

Add this mixture to the bowl along with the 5 cups of vegetable juice.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 4 hours but preferably over night.  The longer you allow it to marinate, the better it will taste 🙂  Enjoy!  I like to top mine with a fresh avocado salsa, cucumbers or grilled shrimp.  A great refreshing meal for those hot summer days.  Plus, it’s packed full of vitamins and nutrients from all the fresh, raw vegetables.

While the Love Nugget continued sleeping (he must have been one tired boy), I whipped up a batch of hummus for lunch.  I wasn’t all that hungry from my pancakes and iced coffee earlier.  Plus, I had to sample some of the gazpacho before sticking away in the fridge 🙂

Remember that Toasted Walnut Pesto I made the other day?  Here’s another great way to use it!

Toasted Walnut Pesto Hummus

1 can low sodium garbonzo beans, rinsed but save liquid

2 tbsp tahini

juice from 1/2 lemon

2 tbsp reserved garbonzo bean liquid

1/3 cup Toasted Walnut Pesto

Salt and pepper to taste

In a food processor, puree all ingredients pausing to scrape down sides, until mixed well.  I like my hummus to be thick and creamy so I skip the oil and use only the liquid from the garbonzo beans.  If you want yours to have more of a liquid consistency, add a tbsp or so of olive oil.  I don’t add the salt and pepper until after I’ve tasted it to ensure it’s not too salty.  I’ve done this the wrong way and ended up with really salty hummus 😦

I served myself up a dish of hummus with some fresh veggies and a few slices of teryaki baked tofu.  Yum!

I also enjoyed a large cup of iced decaf green tea which I prepared for myself this morning.

We planted a stevia and a mint plant in our garden this year so I added in a few sprigs of both and let them sit in the sun with a decaf green tea bag.  Perfect amount of minty sweetness 🙂

Now… to clean up the disaster kitchen from all the cooking I’ve done!

QUESTION

What is your favorite type of running/workout shoe?  I almost bought the Nike Free TR 2 Taining shoe but they were all out of the color I wanted so I guess it wasn’t meant to be 😦

Leave a Reply

