1 Comment

Toasted Walnut Pesto

Okay, so after my Hamburger Fail, I managed to score on something else.  Toasted Walnut Pesto that is healthier than a regular pesto.  How?  Keep reading to find out 🙂

I like pesto but don’t love the high caloric content due to the added oils.  Although when it’s homemade you can control the amount of oil as well as the type, I still don’t love the oily taste to it.  So when I make it at home I cut down on the oil by adding in a lower calorie ingredient.  Without the oil the pesto is thicker, more of a spread, that you can change depending on the dish you are using it in.  For example, we used it tonight as a spread on our burgers but I also added it to the Love Nugget’s pasta with a little cream cheese to make a creamy pasta sauce.

Toasted Walnut Pesto

1/2 cup toasted walnuts

3 cloves garlic

2 cups fresh basil

1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

1 tbsp olive oil

1 – 2 tbsp sherry cooking wine (this adds moisture in place of the oil)

salt and pepper to taste

Toast walnuts in a sauce pan on medium for about 5 minutes or until lightly toasted.  Make sure to stir and watch them because they burn fast!

While the walnuts are toasting, pulse garlic in the food processor until chopped.  Add in toasted walnuts while warm and pulse until fine.  Add in the fresh basil and parmesan cheese and puree.  While mixing add in the oil and sherry wine.  I like to add in my salt and pepper last because the cheese is salty so the amount of salt you add will vary depending on your preference.

Store in the fridge or scoop into an ice tray and freeze for future use.

Like I said tonight we used it as a spread for our burgers with the homemade pickles I whipped up yesterday.

The hubby’s burger with a bun we had in the freezer since mine sucked!

When I took my first bite I remembered that I don’t really like ground turkey so I opted for carrots and hummus instead.  I occasionally like ground turkey breast but for some reason grabbed the regular ground turkey.  Oh well.  Now the hubby has extra for lunch 🙂  Plus there was plenty of watermelon eaten after dinner so I’m stuffed!

One comment on “Toasted Walnut Pesto

  1. […] his scramble, two eggs, toasted walnut pesto, turkey, mushrooms, kale and cheddar […]

Leave a Reply

