1 Comment

I’m gonna be sore :-(

Hey folks!

Hope everyone is enjoying their Tuesday!

This morning we woke up to an overcast sky and cool temperatures.  Strange for mid July in this area.  The weather made me want to crawl right back in bed.  While I didn’t do that, I did skip SS since it was pretty windy and chilly out.  So we hung out in our PJ’s for a little while which doesn’t happen too often around here.

For breakfast I had a repeat of yesterday’s Marvelous Mango Overnight Oats.  I might even have it again tomorrow!  As promised, I payed attention to the measurements so I could share the deliciousness with you 🙂

Mango Overnight Oats

1/3 cup dry Old Fashioned Oats

1/4 cup greek yogurt

1/3 cup non dairy milk or milk

1 tbsp hemp seeds (chia seeds would work good too but I prefer hemp)

1/2 packet of Stevia to sweeten it slightly (you could also use a splash of agave, honey, 100% maple syrup or nothing at all!)

1/2 of a mango, diced

Mix all ingredients together in Tupperware.  Pop in the fridge to set up overnight.  Scoop into a bowl or eat them right out of the Tupperware.  I topped mine with a little of the almond sunflower seed butter I made to give it an extra boost of protein.  Enjoy it however you like!

After breakfast, we headed to the gym so I could get in a run.  I was going to try to run really fast then hit up boot camp which I haven’t done in forever but… the child care lady was late so I only had 15 minutes prior to class starting 😦  Next time.  On our half marathon schedule today was a 45 minute race pace run so I just did that while watching the Matrix.  What a weird movie!

The Love Nugget hasn’t been too into the gym daycare the past few times so instead of getting in some strength training too I went and picked him up then we headed home.  He was pretty tired so once he went down for a nap I decided to try out my new Nike Fitness app.  I read about it on blog so I downloaded it the other day for free and was pretty impressed with what it included.  Lots of different workouts with videos showing you each move.  You can choose between Get Lean – High interval cardio drills, Get Toned – light weights and intervals, Get Strong – Increased weights and Reps, or Get Focused – 15 minute exercises to target specific areas.  Once you choose a category, you then choose a level, beginner, intermediate, or advanced.  Then you have about 10 different workouts ranging between 30 – 45 minutes to choose from.  You can also pick from your own playlists to listen to while working out!  That’s pretty cool!

Today I chose a 30 minute cardio/strength workout that incorporated weights.  The only ones I had close by were 10’s and for some of the exercises I really wish I had 5 because they were a little tough!  It had a ton of squats, frog jumps, lunge jumps, scissor jumps, jumps… jumps… and more jumps!  I’m pretty sure my booty is going to be sore tomorrow!  I really like the app and the variety of workouts they have available.  The hubby and I have an ab workout date tonight and instead of the P90x maybe I’ll get him to do one of the Nike fit ones…. The P90x kicks your butt  abs!

After I showered off my sweaty self, I refueled with a Sunwarrior protein shake and a banana.  Hit the spot!  Then I got to work on making some homemade refrigerator pickles.

When Nani (my mother in law) was here with the Love Nugget, she bought a really neat cookbook for us called At the Farmer’s Market with Kids.  I saw a recipe in there for homemade pickles without the whole canning process and thought I’d give it a try.  So when we were at the market last Saturday I picked up some pickling cucumbers and fresh dill.

 

I thought I had most of the ingredients on hand but remembered that we don’t have any sugar which the recipe called for.   I also discovered we were out of Apple Cider vinegar so I changed the recipe completely to fit what I did have on hand 🙂

Quick and Easy Sugar-free Pickles

4 sprigs of fresh dill

8-10 pickling cucumbers

4 cloves of garlic

1 tbsp mustard seeds

1 tsp coriander seeds

2 tbsp kosher salt

1 tbsp peppercorns

1 cup julianned red or white onion

1 1/2 cups white vinegar

1 cup water

1/8 cup of Stevia

To begin with I popped my jars and lids in the dishwasher to make sure they were nice and clean.  Make sure it’s on heated dry to completely sanitize them.

While they were washing away, I prepped the rest of my ingredients.

 

Once the jars were clean and dry, I placed a few sprigs of dill, the garlic, seasonings and half of the onions into the jars.  Then I shoved in all my pickles.  You can cut them however you want really, I like mine in spears 🙂

In a saucepan, bring the vinegar, water and sugar to a boil.  Pour that mixture over the pickle spears and allow to chill in the fridge overnight before serving.  I might have sampled one or two a little early 🙂  They are pretty good!  I don’t like sweet pickles at all and these had just a slight hint of sweetness to balance out the vinegar taste.  The best part is, unlike when you can and process pickles, these stay nice and crisp.  Yum!

Some one really liked them 🙂

The weather actually turned out to be pretty nice this afternoon so we spent some time playing in the backyard.  The Love Nugget loves being outside with the White Coyote.

 Now off to make tempeh stir-fry for dinner tonight.  Hope it turns out good!

Have a good night everyone!

One comment on “I’m gonna be sore :-(

  1. […] played a bit before the Love Nugget went down for his nap.  While he was sleeping I did another Nike Training workout.  Kicked my butt again but felt great!  I was in major cleaning mode today so I got a lot done.  […]

Leave a Reply

