Leave a comment

Weekend recap + yummy recipes!!

Hey there!

Hope everyone had a great weekend!  Ours was pretty low key since we didn’t get home from Mexico until late Friday.  We spent a TON of time doing unpacking and doing laundry.  We spent even more time just hanging out with the Love Nugget 🙂

Saturday morning we went up to Auburn to the farmers market.  We had heard it was a good one so we figured we’d check it out.  It was in a great location and there were a few more organic booths than at the other market we usually go to.  We got a good amount of produce then walked around the town stopping for an iced coffee.  Then we headed to Costco where the Love Nugget enjoyed his samples and we stocked up on greens, fruit, and organic chicken.  One more stop at the grocery store to finish up our day of errands before heading home for a low key evening.

This morning the hubby and I took the Love Nugget and the White Coyote for a walk.  Well, the hubby really did since I only tagged along for a half mile then ran the rest of the way to the gym.  I had been craving a good, sweaty, cardio workout since we got back to help me shed the pounds of water weight I gained in Mexico.  Even though I worked out and didn’t over indulge too much I still managed to gain a little 😦  So it’s lots of green smoothies, veggies, fruit, water and cardio for me!

After the gym I came home and drank a coconut water green smoothie then made the hubby some protein bars.  I’m out of almond butter and have been really wanting to try some sunflower seed butter.  Since I had both, I decided to just make some 🙂  I used raw almonds, raw sunflowers, a little sea salt, a little agave and a little coconut oil.  It turned out pretty good!

Then we got ready to go to a good friends going away party 😦  She’s moving to Seattle in just a few days and we are very sad to see her go.  But… it just gives us another reason to go up to visit the area!  The Love Nugget was super excited to sit in his car seat that the hubby reversed to be facing forward.

Poor little guy’s legs have been smashed against the back seat since he’s pretty long but he just met the 20lb weight requirement at his last doctors apt.  We held off on turning it until we came back and he was overjoyed to be facing the front!

For dinner tonight I was craving some veggies and sweet potatoes.  I remembered a recipe I had seen for a collard green wrap and happened to have purchased some on our shopping trip yesterday.  So I came up with this…

Okay, I’m sure to some of you it doesn’t look all that appetizing.  But I’m telling you it was delicious!  Even the hubby tried it and liked it!

Before I give you the scoop on how to make your own, let me start with the sweet potatoes.

Best Ever Coconut Oil Sweet Potatoes

2 organic sweet potatoes

1 – 2 tbsp coconut oil

sea salt

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Peel and dice potatoes then place onto cookie sheet.  Melt coconut oil in the microwave then pour over sweet potatoes.  Sprinkle sea salt over potatoes then toss to coat evenly.  Bake for 15 – 20 minutes tossing every 5 until cooked through.  These are so tasty!  Just a hint of coconut and lightly salty.  Yum!

I used the sweet potatoes in the collard wraps but you could eat them just how they are.  I might have had a few…

Tofu and Sweet Potato Wrap

1 large organic collard green wrap

1 piece of baked tofu

2 tbsp black beans, rinsed

4 or more wedges of best ever coconut oil sweet potatoes

2 – 4 slices avocado

Lemon Miso Dressing (recipe to follow)

Rinse the organic collard green and pat dry with a paper towel.

Use a knife to cut out the bone of the collard leaf.

Then, prepare your wrap!  Spread a little of the miso dressing onto the leaves and layer on the sweet potatoes, tofu, black beans and avocado.

For the tofu in this wrap I used a pre-cooked teryaki tofu that I purchased at Bel Air.  You can find pre-baked tofu at many grocery stores these days.

Wrap each roll up and enjoy!  These are pretty messy but really good without the added carbs or gluten from a tortilla!

Lemon Miso Dressing

3 tbsp white miso paste (you can get this at many local grocery stores)

Juice from half a lemon

3 tbsp rice vinegar

1 – 2 tbsp agave nectar (depending on how sweet you’d like it)

2 tbsp whole grain mustard

Miso is a soybean paste that is often used in soups.  However, there are so many different ways to use it in cooking such as this tasty dressing!

Whisk all ingredients together and enjoy!  Simple, no oils and no refined sugars.  This is my favorite salad dressing, dip for veggies or topping for wraps.  Give it a try, you just might like it!

Today, the hubby had the WORSE case of hiccups ever!  I hate when he has hiccups because he is so loud with them.  He was trying everything to get rid of them including drinking water upside down.

The Love Nugget and the White Coyote were very intrigued with what he was doing.  Almost nothing would work but he finally got rid of them, thank goodness!

QUESTION

Have you ever had a case of hiccups that just wouldn’t go away?

One more thing… I’ve still got that giveaway going on over on my facebook page.  Just make sure to like my page and share with a friend to have a chance to win a free bag of Hail Merry Coconut Macaroons!

 

 

Leave a Reply

