Leave a comment

Jumping fences

Today was one of those mornings where it seemed like I was supposed to stay home.  We started off just fine.  The Love Nugget slept until 7:00, I enjoyed my overnight oats and coffee while the Love Nugget ate his waffle and strawberries.  Then we headed off to SS for our workout with plans to go hit up the mall after.  But… halfway there I realized that the stroller was in the backyard because the hubby had washed it.  Grrr…. so I decided to just hit up the gym to get in my scheduled 3 mile run and a little strength training.  On the way to the gym, I stopped by the house to pick up the stroller.  I went through the garage side door and because it was windy, the door shut behind me locking me into the backyard.  With the Love Nugget in the car 😦  Grrr….  The only option I was left with was to hop the fence.  Now… I’ve hopped a few fences in my younger days, climbed many trees, jumped out of many trees, and had my fair share of outdoor adventures.  So I figured this wouldn’t be that big of a challenge.   However, once on top of the fence, the ground looked a little further than I had anticipated and the landing wasn’t as soft as I had hoped.

No major injuries or anything but the bottom of my foot is feeling a little sore and uncomfortable.  Sheesh!  Then, I dropped the Love Nugget off at the daycare at the gym and he screamed when I left.  We’ve only left him there a handful of times but every time he has been just fine.  Not today!  Poor little guy broke my heart leaving him there.  I could see him through the window as I ran and it seemed like he was pretty unhappy to be there.  Luckily they comforted him and held him the whole time so I wasn’t too worried but I cut my workout short doing a quick treadmill run with a few tabata intervals.

Some of you might be thinking, “what is a tabata workout?”  I didn’t know myself until recently but now that I do, I add them in whenever possible.  Here’s the scoop from Shape Magazine.

Nausea. Seeing stars. Sucking wind. This is how you know you’re doing a Tabata workout correctly. At first glance you may wonder why anyone would intentionally do this to themselves, but there’s a reason this type of high-intensity interval training is becoming the go-to workout not just for athletes.

The trick to getting all these benefits is the level of intensity. To do a Tabata, an exercise developed in the ’70’s for Japanese Olympians, all you have to do is pick a cardio activity such as running, jumping rope, or biking and go as hard as you can for 20 seconds. Follow that with 10 seconds of rest and repeat seven more times. And when I say “as hard as you can go,” I mean 100-percent maximal intensity. By the end of the 4 minutes you should feel like you’re going to die.

A few tips to get you started: First, while you can do a Tabata interval with just about any exercise, start with one in which you’re very comfortable. Most people choose sprinting on a treadmill. Second, get a good timer no matter how good you think you are at 1-mississippi-ing, you cannot estimate when 20 seconds and 10 seconds have passed when your brain is that fuzzy. Third, get a good mantra that you can repeat in time with your footfalls for each 20-second burst. It sounds silly, but it really helps focus you on what you’re doing and not on your excruciating pain.

Today for my quick Tabata treadmill workout, I warmed up by running 1 mile.  Usually I would have done a shorter warm up but I was distracted with checking in on the Love Nugget.  Then I increased the incline to 4.5 and the speed to 9.5.  I did 8 rounds of tabata sprints, 20 seconds on running, 10 seconds off resting.  I wish I would have set my Gymboss Tabata Interval Timer on my phone but instead I just watched the treadmill timer and almost lost count a few times.  Following this cycle I ran at a 6.7 speed for a few minutes then completed the tabata cycle again this time at 5.0 incline and 10 speed.  Whew!  Talk about a great workout!  I finished up the rest of my three miles, did a few core exercises then picked up the Love Nugget.

He was beyond thrilled poor little guy!  I think he was just over tired from the past few nights.

We left the gym and went straight to the mall for some vacation shopping.  I like to get to the mall right when it opens to avoid any crowds.  We had a pretty successful shopping trip and a little time with our friends too!  We were there so long that I skipped lunch!  Luckily I had packed some food for the Love Nugget and we made a stop at the Nordstrom Cafe for an iced sugar-free white mocha.  Delicious!  I also grabbed a new plastic cup!

I’d been meaning to get another one for a while now but just kept forgetting.  There’s something about drinking out of a straw that is so much more appealing to me.  I drink way more water when I drink out of a cup or water bottle with a straw.  Weirdo I know!

This afternoon I got some food made for the Love Nugget since he’s running a little low.  He eats a lot of what we eat but I want to make sure he’s all stocked up before we leave for vacation.  So today I made him some Easy Chicken Nuggets with added kale and mozzarella cheese and some quinoa veggie nuggets with beets.

So for dinner I was feeling a little lazy.  Plus, the hubby got home late which meant I did dinner/bath with the Love Nugget instead of him.  So I had a salad with some grilled portobello, beets, arugula, walnuts, and goat cheese with a balsamic vinaigrette.

It was really good 🙂

The hubby had some homemade tamales I picked up at the farmers market and stuck in the freezer.  One pork, one chicken and he said they were delicious!

Tomorrow I’m making a goal to actually make dinner but we’ll see how that goes…

Hope everyone had a great day!  Happy almost Friday!

Leave a Reply

