Leave a comment

Peanut butter cups

Hey there!

Happy Monday to you all!  We started our day off nice and early.  Someone woke up at 5:20 and didn’t want to go back to sleep.  We brought him to bed with us in hopes that he would fall back into a deep slumber but no luck 😦  But I managed to get a good amount done before heading off to SS for a nice workout.

This mornings breakfast was a quick green smoothie for me and the Love Nugget.  He also had blueberry pancakes and blueberries.  This kid is a blueberry muncher lately!  I swear he might turn into one soon like on Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory!  Although she turned into one from eating gum but still…

Tomorrow is the hubby’s birthday so this afternoon the Love Nugget and I made him a little treat.  His favorite candy is Reese’s Peanut butter cups so I decided to make him some homemade ones 🙂

Really easy actually!  All I did was melt some dark chocolate chips with a little bit of coconut butter.  Then I dropped a spoonful into mini muffin tins and spread it around to cover the sides.  Popped them in the freezer for about 10 minutes to set up.  While they were chilling I took some all natural peanut butter and added just a little bit of powdered sugar to sweeten it a little.  Once the chocolate had hardened, I filled each cup with the peanut butter then topped with the rest of the dark chocolate and popped them back into the freezer.  Viola!  Homemade peanut butter cups!  I might have snuck a little bite of one.

I also made a batch of peanut butter granola for breakfasts and snacks that I had to sample as well.

After lunch and some “sampling” the Love Nugget and I headed outdoors for some play time.  The other day, we tried to do some painting.  But… the Love Nugget kept trying to eat it and I had to keep telling him no which wasn’t too much fun so I found a different way for him to paint.

Flour + water + food coloring = edible paint for the Love Nugget!

I just taped some butcher paper to the ground and let him go to town.  Of course he had to sample it…

I still tried to re-direct him to paint with it instead but I felt much better about him tasting every now and then than I did with the real paint.  He had smearing it all over and playing with the cups.

Then it was time for some water play!

Both the Love Nugget and the White Coyote are obsessed with the hose.

As well as the sprinkler…

They had fun and when I turned the water off they both had a little fit.

Then the Love Nugget went down for another nap and I hopped on the elliptical to sweat out the granola and peanut butter cup I snacked on earlier.

Enjoying a little quite time before the Love Nugget wakes up and making my grocery shopping list for the 4th of July.  Do you have any fun plans for the 4th?

Leave a Reply

