Leave a comment

Homemade Protein Bars

Good morning!

We had a rough night last night.  For some reason, the Love Nugget woke up several times and wanted to be held.  So while I had planned to wake up at 5:00 and head to the gym, that didn’t happen.  I actually don’t even remember turning my alarm off but I must have because we didn’t wake up until we heard the Love Nugget at 7:00.  So… we’re going to skip SS and head out for a run here in a bit.  It’s a really nice day so it’s almost better that I didn’t go to the gym 🙂

For a quick bite before my run I grabbed one of Mamma Pea’s cookies I made yesterday.  The perfect protein packed pre-workout snack.  I don’t like to eat too much before a run and this was just enough 🙂  The love nugget ate some blueberries and oat cakes while we ran.

Yesterday I tried out a new protein bar recipe that turned out pretty good!

Protein Bars

1/3 cup of raw walnuts

2/3 cup pitted dates

1 1/2 cup oats

2 scoops vanilla protein powder ( I used Sun Warrior)

2 tbsp Flaxseeds

1/4 cup melted coconut oil

1/3 cup nut butter

3 tbsp water

1/2 cup dark chocolate, or more!

Pulse walnuts and dates in a food processor until a crumbled, sticky mixture.  Put that mixture along with the rest of the ingredients into a large bowl or mixer and combine well.  The mixture will be wet and sticky.

Line a 8×8 pan with parchment paper or foil.  I ran out of both so I used cooking spray.  Press firmly into the pan.

Melt chocolate and butter if desired, in a microwave safe bowl.  The best way I’ve found to do this it to use the defrost option stirring several times for 30 seconds or so.  Spread chocolate over the oat mixture and pop into the fridge to set for at least 2 hours.

Cut into bars and store in the fridge or freezer.

Seriously these taste like oatmeal cookie bars!

Yummy!

Leave a Reply

