Leave a comment

Things that go bump!

Happy Monday!

I woke up feeling exhausted today.  Not sure if it’s from the weekend or from not getting much sleep last night.  I was awake worried about the Love Nugget from a “little” spill he had yesterday.  I’ll get to that in a second…

Yesterday the hubby and I got home fairly early from our weekend in Lake Almanor so we could spend the day with the Love Nugget.   We unpacked a little then headed to the park for some play time.

The Love Nugget had a great time running around checking out all the fun stuff.

The hubby played along side him like a big kid 🙂

Too cute!

Then we went and grabbed some gelato from Whole Foods and finally headed home for nap time.  While the Love Nugget napped, I hopped on the elliptical to work off some of the food and beverages I enjoyed over the weekend.  After an hour I was drenched with sweat, yuck!

When the love nugget awoke, we went outside to enjoy the nice weather.  But… he lost his balance and fell right into a wooden beam on our patio.  Head first 😦  Which caused a huge goose egg to protrude out of his head.

Of coarse I freaked and we jumped in the car to rush to the emergency room.  If you know us well you know our background with head injuries.  If you don’t, here’s a quick rundown.

In January of 2008, just before we were to be married, the hubby went snowboarding with some friends.  He usually wore a helmet but forgot it that day.  While boarding, he went off a jump and crashed, badly.  Evidentially he passed out but came through and rested for a bit before eventually coming home with a headache.  When he got home, I fed him some soup and he got in the bath to try to relax and make the headache go away.  I happened to walk up stairs to put a cold rag on his head and while sitting there with him he began seizing.  The ambulance came and took him away and I drove the hospital waiting to be able to see him.  When I was finally taken back to trauma, he looked okay but then began seizing again.  I was rushed out of the room and had to wait several very long hours until I was eventually allowed into intensive care.  He was given a lot of drugs to keep him from seizing again and they were unable to tell me much of anything.  We were released from the hospital the next day but returned just a day later when he had another seizure at home.  After sitting in the ER, we were again sent away only to get home, lay down in bed and go through another seizure.  This time, they checked us in and we were in the hospital for a few days while the anti-seizure medication leveled out in his blood stream.  From hitting his head on the snow, he had some bleeding in his brain that caused him to have seizures.  He is currently still taking anti-seizure medication and will have to continue for a few more years.  Even then he will have to go through a trial period where he can’t drive or really be alone with the Love Nugget to ensure he doesn’t have any seizures.

So… needless to say, I get a little nervous about head injuries.  But after speaking with the Love Nugget’s doctor, he ensured me that he would be fine and that kids get bumps like this all the time.  It helped that we have his check-up scheduled today so I knew they would be checking on him.

I spent the rest of the evening glued to his side even though he was happily playing away.

I even brought him into bed with me for a little while just to make sure he was still breathing.  Then continued to wake up and check on him every so often.

I post this because I know there are many other first time moms out there that would have freaked just like me.  I have never seen a bump get so big so fast and it scared me to death!  However, it is normal (well, as normal as hitting your head can be) for kids to get bumps and bruises.  It also helped that I knew to check for the following things before rushing to the emergency room.

  • loss of consciousness
  • headache
  • dizziness
  • confusion
  • nausea
  • vomiting
  • irritability
  • drainage, clear or bloody, from his nose, mouth, or ears  (Source)

While of course you should always trust your gut and be on the safe side, it helps to know what to look for.  Even though my first reaction was to drive to the ER for a CAT scan, I calmed down and remembered these things then called the doctor first.  I’m glad I did too and when we went in to see him today, there was almost no reaction to the egg sticking out of his head.  This just put my mind more at ease 🙂

Hopefully there’s not a next time but like the hubby said, “babe, he’s a boy, and it’s the first of many bumps he’ll have.”  This coming from the man who went to the emergency room every year for the first 4 years we were together!  I really hope the Love Nugget doesn’t take after him!

Leave a Reply

