Leave a comment

Busy Morning

Happy Friday!

This week flew by since we didn’t get home until Tuesday from our coastal trip.  Plus I had a ton of stuff to do to get ready for this weekend.  The hubby and I are joining some friends for a little weekend away.  The love nugget and Grammie spend some quality time together.

This morning I got up at 5:30 to get my run out of the way.  I was planning to run outside but the wind was already blowing away so I headed to the gym instead.  After my 5 miles I wanted to get some circuit training in but had to get home so the hubby could take his turn at the gym.  Unfortunately, the love nugget was wide awake when I returned so I had to skip my circuit workout today.  Which was actually okay because my legs are tired from 3 days of running at least 5 miles and yesterdays hill workout at SS.

So while I got the love nugget his breakfast, I made myself a yummy smoothie in a bowl.

Coconut Water Green Smoothie

1/2 cup frozen berries,

1/2 frozen banana

large handful of spinach

1 scoop of vanilla protein powder

1 tbsp flaxseed

1 cup of coconut water ( I used Zico today but also really like Naked and O.N.E.)

Place all ingredients into a blender and mix away.  I kept mine thick so I could eat it in a bowl with granola on top.  Yummy!

After I slurped down my breakfast, I got started on my to do list.

  • Make Zucchini Oat Drops
  • Make Quinoa Salad
  • Cut up veggies
  • Make the Love Nugget’s pasta salad
  • Finish packing
  • Steam carrots
  • Make tortilla roll ups

I was excited to use the first few zucchini from our garden!  So after I made the love nugget a batch of zucchini oat drops, I also made these,

Super easy to make, only 5 ingredients, yummy breakfast or snack that you and your kiddos will love!

Zucchini and Kale Egg Muffins

1 medium zucchini grated, about 1 1/2 cups

1/2 cup chopped organic kale

2 eggs, beaten

1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

Salt and pepper optional

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and spray 6 muffin cups with cooking spray.  Grate the zucchini then using a clean kitchen towel, squeeze out excess liquid.  Using a food processor, pulse kale until it’s finely chopped.  Place kale, zucchini, beaten eggs, and cheeses into a mixing bowl and stir together.  Scoop into prepared muffin tin and pack down.  Bake for 12 – 15 minutes then enjoy!

This recipe makes 6 but the Love Nugget and I shared one before I could snap a few pictures.  They are very tasty!  You could also use a mini muffin pan and make smaller ones.

I’m a huge multitasker so I’m constantly doing more than one thing at a time.  While these baked, I managed to get my veggies cut, blanched asparagus, steamed carrots and whipped up a pasta for the Love Nugget.  Who by this time was finished with breakfast and ready for his nap since he woke up super early today.  So while he slept I made a yummy quinoa salad.  Here’s a sneak peek but you’ll have to wait for the recipe 🙂

By 9:30 this is what my kitchen sink looked like…

Haha!  I’m obviously not one of those that cleans as they go!

Hope everyone has a wonderful Friday!

Take some time to relax and catch some ZZZZ’s like this kitten 🙂

Pinned Image

Leave a Reply

