Leave a comment

How does your garden grow?

Hey guys!

Today after SS we went to a story time program at the library called Mother Goose on the Loose.  I’d heard great things about it but just hadn’t had the chance to go.  Today we planned to meet up with some of our friends to see what it was all about.  I was amazed at the library and the really cool play area they had for the kids.  I had hoped to make a stop by both after story but the love nugget was exhausted!

The woman who ran the story time was a ball full of energy!  She kept the room pretty engaged and it was filled with kids and moms of all ages.

You can’t tell from this picture but she had  a puppet behind her back and was singing a song that all the kids knew!  It was cute!

I think the next time we go we’ll try to grab a spot closer to the front and maybe the love nugget will be a little more engaged.  For the most part, he ran around flirting with the ladies and playing with the bells and scarves they passed out during some of the songs.  We both liked it and will be returning.  Best part, it’s free!

We came home and of coarse, he passed out as soon as he layed on his bed.  Which meant I had some free time to clean up, shower and make some yummy hummus.  Mmmm… I love hummus!  I mentioned the other day that we picked up some avocado hummus from the farmers market.  I fell in love with it and have been meaning to try to replicate it.  I had almost forgotten that we planted cilantro in our herb garden and when I went out to check, I found that our plants are growing like crazy!

They have seriously doubled in size since just last week!  Plus, I found our first, teeny tiny zucchini growing.  Oh how I love fresh zucchini during the summer time!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Juice from 1 lime

Juice from 1/2 lemon

pepper to taste

rinse garbonzo beans under water but make sure to reserve the liquid from the can.  Here is the time consuming part.  I learned from Mamma Pea that the secret to really good, creamy hummus is to peel each individual bean.  It sounds like it would take forever but it’s actually not that bad.  I’ve found that if you squeeze them gently between your fingers, they pop right out of their little shell.  In a food processor, chop garlic and cilantro until finely chopped.  Add in the rest of the ingredients and puree until nice and smooth.

If it seems too thick for your liking, just add a little more water or if you’d like you can add olive oil.  I just skip this to save on the calories 🙂

It turned out really good and I enjoyed some with veggies for lunch!

The love nugget liked it too!

Although he wasn’t a fan of the cucumbers the hummus came with so he just sucked it all off.  Guess he really liked it!

Tonight I’m headed to happy hour with some friends while the love nugget and the hubby go to swim lessons.

Have a great evening!

 

Leave a Reply

