Leave a comment

Tired boy

Happy Monday to you all.

We woke up a little tired from the weekend over here.  Well… at least the hubby and I did.  The nugget woke up nice and happy!  Especially when he came downstairs and saw all his new toys!

I completely forgot that SS got moved up a half an hour earlier because of the weather warming up.  So we didn’t make it this morning.  Which was actually okay because I’ve got a ton of stuff to do around the house and I wanted to get in a good run before it got too hot.

So after a quick breakfast of pancakes and blueberries for the nugget, and breakfast cookie dough cereal for me, we headed out for a nice long run.  I wasn’t really that into it at first and as it heated up I thought about cutting it short but since I didn’t do much running this weekend I stuck with it and finished 6 miles.

The love nugget took a little cat nap while we ran but woke up as soon as we got home.  I could tell he was still tired but he stayed up for a while then crashed just before 12:00.  While he slept I got in a quick circuit workout that I had pinned on Pinterest.

Pinned Image

I did Monday’s circuit two times.  Should have done 3 times but I just felt like I had so much other stuff I needed to get done and had no idea how long he would nap.

After that I took a quick shower, then got to work on some food for my little man.

Sugar-free Sort of Graham Crackers

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

1 1/2 tbsp Truvia or other sugar substitute

1/4 cup of vegetable oil (you could also use 1/4 cup of melted butter if you wanted a more flaky cracker)

2 tbsp agave or honey (I used agave because they were for the love nugget who still can’t have honey)

1 tsp vanilla

1/3 cup + 1 tbsp organic milk or non dairy milk (you might need more milk depending on how crumbly your dough is.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  In a large bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.  In a separate bowl mix together the remaining ingredients.  Create a small well in the center of the dry ingredients then pour in your wet ingredients and mix well.  The dough will be crumbly but should hold together when kneaded.

If it seems to crumbly and does not hold together, add a tbsp of milk until it sticks together. Roll into a ball and lightly knead the dough.  Split into two balls and roll one out on a lightly floured surface.

Use cookie cutters of choice or just cut into squares.  Place onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and bake for 10 minutes.  Watch carefully to make sure they don’t burn.  Remove from the baking sheet and allow to cool.

This recipe also made another tray of crackers that I cut into bigger squares.  If you cut them bigger than the shapes pictured, allow them to cook for a few minutes longer or they will be soft.  If you don’t mind them being soft, don’t cook them any longer.  The love nugget was able to chew the softer ones a little better but he liked them both 🙂

Zucchini Corn Fritters

2 cups shredded zucchini

1 cup frozen corn kernels

1/3 cup corn meal

1/3 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1 egg

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Shred two medium-sized zucchini, then squeeze liquid out in a dish towel.

Mix zucchini and the remaining ingredients in a bowl until a cake like mixture forms.  The mixture will be wet and sticky.

Using a cookie scoop, drop onto a parchment lined baking sheet then press down to form a patty.  Bake for 10 minutes, flip, then bake for 10 minutes more.  Allow to cool then enjoy!

The love nugget napped until 2:30!  He was a tired boy.  When he woke up he was starving and I realized I hadn’t eaten yet either.  So I chowed down on the rest of the black bean quinoa salad (I still need to get the recipe up), while he enjoyed some salmon, zucchini fritters, black beans and sweet potatoes.

Then we raced out the door to a dentist apt. and back home to change for swim lessons.  The hubby came home and took him swimming so I could finish up laundry and prep for dinner.  Tonight we’re having roasted cauliflower, broccoli and fennel along with some baked salmon.  Yum!

Have a great evening!

Leave a Reply

