2 Comments

It’s a new day!

Happy Friday!

After yesterday’s frustrating morning, I was really looking forward to a nice relaxing evening.  Which is just what I got.  I was trying so hard to have dinner on the table when the hubby got home and finally accomplished it!

I was thinking today about how wives in the past (50’s, 60’s) were able to balance kids, finish household chores, and still have dinner on the table when the husbands got home from work.  I was trying to figure out how they did it all.  Then I realized, they probably didn’t work out as often as we do now, have as many play dates, venture out and about to story time, music, gymnastics etc. and they dedicated the majority of their day to their house and making sure their husbands were happy.

I am soooo glad I didn’t live in that era!  I love that the nugget and I are constantly on the go experiencing new things and meeting new people.

However, this week I have made an effort to be more of that doting housewife just to ground myself a little after months of running around crazy preparing for the love nugget’s bday.

So… when the love nugget was eating his dinner last night, I got started on dinner.  Lately, I cook while the hubby does bedtime and we eat much later than I’d like to.  Or, we don’t cook at all and I throw something together last minute.  Tonight I decided to make a Goat Cheese Sun-dried Tomato Stuffed Chicken with some Caprese Zucchini Boats. 

Goat Cheese Sun-dried Tomato Stuffed Chicken

2 organic chicken breasts

1/2 cup chopped spinach

1 tbsp chopped sun-dried tomatoes in oil

1 tbsp chopped basil

1 clove chopped garlic

1/3 cup goat cheese

2-3 tbsp bread crumbs

vegetable spray or olive oil

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Mix together spinach, sun-dried tomatoes, basil, garlic, and goat cheese.

Take the chicken breast and cut a pocket into each breast.

Then, using your fingers (I hate this part!) stuff the goat cheese mixture into each pocket.

Secure the openings with toothpicks and sprinkle the bread crumbs on top of each breast.  Top with cooking spray or olive oil and bake for 25-30 minutes.

If you like goat cheese and sun-dried tomato, this is a recipe for  you!  Plus, pretty healthy!

We enjoyed our chicken with…

Caprese Stuffed Zucchini

1 large zucchini cut in half

1/2 cup diced organic tomato

1 tbsp chopped basil

1 tsp chopped garlic

splash of olive oil

salt and pepper

mozzarella cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Scoop out inside of zucchini.  Mix together chopped tomato, basil, garlic, and olive oil.  Spoon tomato mixture into zucchini boats then top with salt, pepper, and mozzarella cheese to taste.  Bake for 15 – 20 minutes.  Enjoy!

Very light and refreshing especially when we paired it with a nice crisp semillion.  My favorite summertime wine 🙂

Then we relaxed and watched a few episodes of Modern Family we had recorded on DVR.  I often wonder what we did without DVR.  It seems like such a staple now in our house.  I don’t think we ever even watch anything when it is actually “on” at it’s scheduled time.

This morning I got my butt up and headed to the gym to get in a quick interval workout.  5 – 400meter sprints which on the treadmill meant I would jog at a 10 minute pace for .25 of a mile, then increase the speed to a 8 minute pace for a .25 mile.  I did a total of 5 8 minute pace sprints which ended up being 3 miles.

We are off to Stroller Strides this morning even thought it’s supposed to be near 90 by 9:00 this morning!  Holy hottness!  Then home to finish cleaning up and get ready for tonight.  A good friend is coming to stay with us for the night and we are having a little girls night.  I love that my hubby encourages me to go out and spend time with my friends.  Maintaining those relationships is sometimes hard to do, especially when a lot of my girlfriends don’t have kids yet, but it’s so important to hold on to those friends 🙂

Hope everyone has a great Friday!!!

Pinned Image

2 comments on “It’s a new day!

  1. Ok, I am totally making those Zucchini boats this weekend….. YUM! Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

Leave a Reply

