Leave a comment

Birthday weekend!

Happy Friday!

Wow, this week flew by!  It’s always the weeks that you have a million things to do that go by so quickly.  It didn’t help that the love nugget was a major teething monster all week for me.  However, as soon as dadda got home he was all smiles and wanted nothing to do with me.  As much as I love seeing him bond with his father, it was a little frustrating since he was such a stinker all day but super pleasant for him.  Oh well, I guess it’s just one of many stages we’ll be experiencing 🙂

Yesterday I got a few more things done for the nugget’s party on Sunday.  I’ve been working away preparing for a few months now so I wouldn’t be to overwhelmed by the time the day arrived.  I think I actually did a pretty good job.  While I still have some stuff to do, I don’t feel stressed or overwhelmed at all!  Now, I say this today but it’s only Friday…

Here’s a sneak peek some birthday treats I made yesterday…

This morning the love nugget woke up bright and early at 6:00am and did not want to go back to sleep.  I brought him into bed with me and he tossed, turned, kicked, punched, talked, etc.  So… we got up and started our day.  He seemed to be in a little bit of a better mood today and actually played by himself for a while.

Since he’s been teething he’s been a little pickier with his eating habits.  He hasn’t really been that into eating any fruit besides bananas and blueberries.  All I had this morning was some organic raspberries that he was refusing to eat.  So I decided to throw them into some pancakes.  I also had some cooked quinoa in the fridge so I put the two together and came up with these…

Berry Quinoa Pancakes

1/2 cup cooked quinoa

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 egg

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

3/4 cup organic whole milk

1/2 cup berries of choice (I used organic raspberries and mashed them before adding to the mixture)

Mix together quinoa, flour, baking soda, and cinnamon.  In a separate bowl, mix together egg, applesauce, and milk.  Add to the quinoa mixture and stir until mixed well.  Add in the berries and scoop 1/4 cup at a time onto a preheated pan.  I flip when bubbles form on the batter side.  Allow to cool slightly before serving to your little one!

He liked them!

After breakfast we headed out for a quick 4 mile run.  It’s been hard sticking to our half marathon training schedule this week since the hubby and I have both been so busy.  Luckily we still have 13 weeks until race day!

The hubby went into work for a meeting then is taking the rest of the day off to help prepare for the party.  I’m so thankful that I have such a helpful husband who will not only help get the backyard ready, but will help clean the house, cook, take care of the love nugget and anything else I ask him to do.  Love him!!!!

Off to bake a cake!  Have a great Friday!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

