Leave a comment

Household Binder

Good morning!

Happy hump day!

So our neighbors that live behind us have two huge cherry trees.  Quite a few branches hang over into our backyard and the cherries have finally ripened.   So last night after dinner we picked a bowl full and enjoyed a yummy sweet treat!  The hubby used to think he didn’t like cherries until I made him eat one a few years ago.  He discovered he loved them!  I almost wish he hadn’t because then there would be more for me 🙂

The birds discovered the cherries this morning at 5:00am.  They were going crazy devouring them so loudly that I couldn’t go back to sleep.  So up at 5:00 to catch up on emails, banking and some household chores.

When I became a stay at home mom, I quickly learned that juggling motherhood and housewife was somewhat of a task.  A little more so than I had expected.  I decided that I needed something to help me stay organized.  I had stumbled upon a blog on Pinterest that became very helpful to me.  The Good Wife has free printables to creat a household binder that can help keep your home organized.

Of course you can organize you’re however works best for you but here’s how I put mine together.

I bought a plain three-ring binder with a clear cover, added some scrapbook paper I had on hand and used stamps to label it.

Then I bought plastic tab dividers with pockets so I could store loose papers, bills, cards etc.

The tabs I have are calendar, bills, shopping, cleaning, party planning and information.

The Goodwife has tons of different printables but here’s what I used for each tab.

Calendar ~ http://goodwifeinthekitchen.blogspot.com/2011/05/boto-calendar.html

I have three different calendars that I am updating constantly.  It helps myself and the hubby to stay on track and know what is going on.

Bills ~ http://goodwifeinthekitchen.blogspot.com/2012/03/boto-bill-tracker.html

http://goodwifeinthekitchen.blogspot.com/2011/05/money-money-money-mon-nay.html

When I was still working, the hubby and I both paid our bills.  It all came from the same account but some he had access to and some I did.  Once I started staying home, I just took over paying them all and it became much easier!  It also helped that I found these great budgeting and bill tracking worksheets from the good wife.

I keep track of what bills I’ve already paid monthly and when to pay each bill.

I love having the divider with a pocket so I can store bills that need to be paid and toss them once their checked off.

Shopping ~ http://goodwifeinthekitchen.blogspot.com/2011/05/boto-menus-and-shopping-lists.html

In my shopping tab I have lots of different printables but really only use my shopping list and meal planner.  I keep the others just in case I need them some day.

The goodwife has a great shopping list but I actually found the one I use on a different website.

http://0.tqn.com/d/singleparents/1/0/K/-/-/-/Grocery_List.PNG

I like this one because it has a menu planner right on the list and everything is organized into categories.  I usually cross off “snacks” since we don’t buy any, and write in canned goods.

In my shopping tab I also keep a pantry, fridge and freezer inventory from thegoodwife.

I wrote in everything that I like to have on hand or use most often and every few months go through and check to make sure I’m stocked up.

Cleaning ~ http://goodwifeinthekitchen.blogspot.com/2011/05/boto-cleaning-schedules.html

Like my shopping tab, I keep lots of different cleaning printables here just in case I need them.  What I use the most right now is my weekly cleaning check list that I created using a page from a blog called lifeasamom. 

I keep a bunch clipped on my fridge to check off each week.  Trust me, not everything gets done every week, but it’s a good way to try to stay on top of household cleaning and chores without feeling overwhelmed.

I also keep a magnetic chip clip with a stack of these little to do lists on my fridge.  I like these because they are short and small enough to write down a few things and keep them in my purse.

I also have thegoodwife’s spring cleaning check list which is really nice to have.

Party Planning ~ http://goodwifeinthekitchen.blogspot.com/2011/07/how-to-plan-party.html

I love planning parties!  I don’t get to do it too often but when I do, I like to be as organized as possible.  Thegoodwife party planner sheet has helped me to do so.

I also keep a birthday organizer with monthly birthdays and a gift list to jot down ideas throughout the year.  I find this very helpful as I often stumble upon great gifts for people a while before the event and forget about them by the time the day arrives.  This helps me to not forget!

Important information ~ http://goodwifeinthekitchen.blogspot.com/2011/05/call-me-anytime.html

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve searched for my student loan contact information or had to run out to my car while on the phone for my VIN number.  Here I can keep all my information in one place where I can easily find it when needed.

I really  like how much more organized my household binder has helped me become.  I know it’s not for everyone but if you’re looking for something to help your home be a little more organized, maybe one is right for you!

 

Leave a Reply

