2 Comments

Organic vs. non organic

Hi!

It is summer weather here this week!  Hot!

I have been in go mode for a few weeks now and haven’t had a morning at home to just relax and get a few things done.  So we skipped SS today and had a nice mellow morning at home.  I enjoyed my coffee, made the love nugget some french toast (which he loved) and made myself a Chocolate Peanut Butter Green Smoothie and egg puff with goat cheese.  Then we headed off for a run before it got too hot.

I started running with the love nugget when he was about 6 weeks old and jogged basically my whole pregnancy.  So I think that he is very used to running and thoroughly enjoys it.  Usually he just kicks his feet, shouts at the passing cars or whoever passes by us.  Today he fell asleep after 20 minutes and was out cold!

So I transferred him to his crib where he continued to sleep for a few more hours.  Which meant I got to put away laundry, clean and FINALLY watch this past Sunday’s episode of Desperate Housewives.  I can’t believe there’s only one more left!

When the nugget woke up we took off to go and run some errands.  So much to do before his big party next weekend!

Since it was so hot out today, I couldn’t help but splurge on a sorbetto at Whole Foods after grocery shopping.  The nugget even got to try some too and man did he love it!  Strawberry sorbetto, yummy!

While I shopped at Whole Foods before the love nugget was born, I feel I frequent it much more now and do the majority of my shopping there.  I also like Trader Joes but have been pretty disappointed in their produce lately and have found mold on some things that I’ve bought after just a few days.  I would love to shop more at the Bel Air right around the corner from us but they have very little organic produce 😦   I also go to local farmers markets when ever I can.

I used to buy a few things organic but never really put that much thought into it.  Once the love nugget started eating solid foods I began to be more cautious about the foods that we were eating.  Mamma Pea layed it out perfectly for me as far as what produce to buy organic in her book Peas and Thank you.

You may have heard it before but there is a group of produce called the “Dirty Dozen.”

The Environmental Working Group has named the following to have the highest pesticide residue if grown conventionally.

  • Apples  (any grocery store)
  • Bell Peppers  (at some local grocery stores, TJ’s or WF’s)
  • Blueberries   ( TJ’s or WF’s)
  • Celery  (TJ’s, WF’s, Costco, or some grocery stores)
  • Cherries  (WF’s and seasonally TJ’s)
  • Grapes  (have yet to find them organic!)
  • Kale (WF’s)
  • Nectarines (WF’s and TJ’s)
  • Peaches  (WF’s and TJ’s)
  • Potatoes (WF’s, TJ’s and local grocery stores)
  • Spinach (WF”s, TJ’s and Costco)
  • Strawberries (WF’s, TJ’s, and sometimes grocery stores)

I added where I find them in my area but depending on where you live you might find more in your local grocery stores.  Now I only buy these things organic.  This means that sometimes I leave the grocery store with no fruit or have to make more than one stop while out grocery shopping.  Yes, it’s more expensive and at times frustrating, but it’s worth it!  There’s a great list that ranks 53 fruits and vegetables based on their pestiside residue.  Very helpful!

Happy shopping!

 

2 comments on “Organic vs. non organic

  1. Just a heads up, sometimes they have organic grapes at Costco 🙂

    • Oooh! Good to know! I feel like that is the hardest thing to find organic. I’m looking forward to more fresh fruit coming into season which should make it easier to buy organic. Love me some summer time fruit!

Leave a Reply

