Leave a comment

Spicy Peanut Slaw

Good morning!

It should be another warm day here today.  Warm enough to wear shorts and a tank top to workout in at SS and get some sun on my white legs 🙂

We had a yummy dinner and a relaxing evening last night after my big oops of the day.

The hubby got home and we did our first quick run of our half marathon training.  Just a short 30 minute tempo run.  It was still a little windy and with the warm weather that I’m not quite used to and the wind pushing the stroller, it was a little tough for such a short run.  Felt good though 🙂

For dinner I marinated some salmon to bbq along with some asparagus and zucchini then made a spicy peanut broccoli slaw that was pretty yummy!

I’m super into the broccoli slaw from Trader Joes lately.  I add it to my salads or mix up a quick dressing and have it with dinner.

Tonight I made a yummy new recipe that went perfect with the citrus soy salmon we had.

Spicy Peanut Broccoli Slaw

2 tbsp all natural peanut butter

2 tbsp rice wine vinegar

2 – 3 tbsp low sodium soy sauce

Juice from 1 lime

1 tsp chopped garlic

1 tsp chopped ginger

1/2 tsp chili paste (more or less depending on how spicy you like it)

Salt and pepper to taste

2 cups of broccoli slaw

1/4 cup chopped raw cashews or peanuts

Whisk first 8 ingredients together in a bowl.  Add in broccoli slaw and cashews and mix well.  Place in the refrigerator to marinade for 10-20 minutes before serving.

I love this time of year because we spend a lot of evenings out back on our patio eating a yummy grilled dinner and enjoying the pleasant weather.

With the warm weather I enjoyed my first homemade toddy iced coffee.  Yum!  My bestie works for Starbucks corporation in Seattle and bought me a toddy cold brew system a few years ago.  I had never heard of one before but we fell in love with the delicious iced coffee drinks we make using the concentrate.  It’s a little bit of a process to make but well worth it!

First you pour water and the coffee into a bowl with a plug on top of a decanter.

You let it sit and brew for 12 hours then you remove the plug and it drains into the decanter.

It keeps in the fridge for up to three weeks and is so tasty in an iced coffee or mixed with a little water and warmed for your morning cup of joe!

I mix mine with a little bit of stevia and almond milk.  Yummy!

Only problem yesterday was I had one too late in the afternoon so I was up last night wide awake.  Lesson learned 🙂

I got up early this morning to finish the mustache crayons and get a few things done before we the nugget woke up.  Then I made a yummy bowl of greek yogurt with breakfast cookie dough.  The breakfast cookie dough is adapted from the fitnessista.  So full now!

Really quick and easy to make and a great way to get a protein packed breakfast in to start your day!

Breakfast Cookie Dough and Greek Yogurt

1/3 cup old fashioned oats

2 tbsp all natural peanut butter or almond butter  (I used a maple roasted almond butter I made the other day 🙂

1 tbsp hemp seeds, chai seeds or flaxseeds

3/4 – 1 cup plain greek yogurt (I use Fage)

1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder

fruit add in of choice ( today I used 1/4 banana)

Using the back of a spoon, mix nut butter and oats together until combined.

Add in hemp seeds, chai seeds, or flaxseeds and mix together.  In a separate bowl, stir together yogurt and protein powder.  Top yogurt with the breakfast cookie dough and fruit of choice.  Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

