Leave a comment

Early bird gets the worm

For some reason the birds around our house like to start singing bright and early.  Like 5:00am early.  Sometimes 4:30 😦

This morning after they started singing, I couldn’t go back to sleep so I eventually got up to get a few things done before the love nugget awoke.  When I crawled out of bed I realized my whole body hurt!  Uhhhh!  I hate being sore!  Yesterday afternoon I decided to do an Instanity workout.  I haven’t done one in a while and pushed it through the whole thing without stopping.  Feeling it today for sure!  If you have not heard of Insanity, here is the link to check it out.  Great Cardio workouts that literally kick you booty!

http://www.5min.com/Video/Shaun-Ts-Insanity-Workout-516942115

Our office/craft room is a disaster right now as I prepare for some ones big first birthday.  So much so that I get anxiety every time I try to sit down and get anything done.  When I try to clean it up it only lasts about a day if that so /i just get over it.  I’ve come to the conclusion that we just need a bigger house with a bigger craft room!

Even in the mess, I managed to get a little done before the love nugget got up.  After breakfast we headed off to SS (stroller strides),then run a few errands, and finally Whole Foods for lunch with a friend.

The love nugget usually naps for a good two hours after our busy morning routine.  Today however, he was in some sort of funk.  Woke up after only an hour and was not a happy camper.  So for the rest of the afternoon he was attached to my hip, leg, lap, you name it!  Pretty sure it’s those darn teeth of his 😦  Poor guy!

I did manage to make some hummus for all the veggies I bought yesterday.  Hummus is one of my favorite things to snack on with fresh veggies and is pretty simple to make.

Usually I just make a plain hummus but today I decided to try something new.

Basil and Sundried Tomato Hummus

1 can low sodium garbonzo beans drained, rinsed and peeled but save the liquid from the can

2 cloves of garlic, chopped

2 tbsp oil soaked sundried tomatoes

1/3 cup liquid from garbonzo bean can

1/3 cup fresh basil

*3 tbsp tahini

1 tsp cumin

Juice from 1/2 lemon

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp or more of sea salt

pepper to taste

Rinse garbonzo beans reserving liquid.  I save it all even though you won’t use it all so you can add more if you want it creamier.  Peel each garbonzo bean by pinching them between your fingers taking off the outer clear peel.  I learned this trick from Mamma Pea and it really makes a huge difference in the creaminess of the hummus.

Peel and chop garlic.  Favorite garlic tools are the Martha Stewart garlic peeler (Macy’s) and garlic chopper (hubby got from Williams Sonoma for me).

Add all ingredients into a food processor and blend until creamy scrapping down the sides a few times.

*Tahini is a sesame seed paste that can be found in most natural food stores.  Sometimes you can find it in local grocery stores as well.  It lasts for a while so once you buy it you can make several batches of hummus 🙂
As I’ve mentioned before, we have been working on revamping our front and back yard for quite sometime now.  Today the hubby came home with a truck full of plants.  This means we are one more step closer to being finished!  Yay!
Now if only we had more time to plant them…
Leave a Reply

