1 Comment

Home Sweet Home

I had such a fun weekend in San Diego this weekend with a good friend!

But it’s so nice to be home with my loves!  I missed them!

It has been years since I’ve been down Southern California and I got lucky with some pretty good weather.  Friday and Saturday were really nice days and we spent a lot of time outdoors.  Went to the zoo, ran through Balboa park, walked through some fun neighborhoods and did a party bus brewery tour.  I’m not a huge beer drinker but it was really fun!  Someone was wearing sunglasses that are perfect for the love nugget’s upcoming birthday party!  I just had to try them on 🙂

Sorry for the blurry picture, iphone camera 😦

Sunday we went to a brunch restaurant called Snooze that we had heard about from a few different people.  When we got there around 10:00 the wait was an hour and a half so we walked around, grabbed coffee and then played a little table tennis provided by the restaurant.  While I didn’t mind waiting, it crossed my mind that the food had better be good for the time we spent waiting.  Once we were seated a bubbly waitress gave us a very detailed run down of the menu.  The food sounded amazing and the best part was that they encourage creating your own plates!

I am super picky when it comes to my food especially breakfast.  I almost always ask for some sort of substitution while ordering.  The hubby makes fun of me.  So that they allowed you to make substitutions and actually encouraged it, made the wait well worth it.

While we waited for our food I enjoyed one of the best Bloody Mary’s I’ve had in a really long time.  Just like with my food, I’m pretty picky about my drinks too and for that reason, very rarely order Bloody Mary’s.  They are almost always too thick, spicy and filling.  This one was AMAZING!

Also while we were waiting, the waitress sent out an “appetizer” for our table.

It tasted like a Cinnamon bun, so good but we could barely each eat three bites.

The rest of our food was just as good.  All farm fresh food, hand crafted and delicious!  Definitely worth the wait!

After brunch we went to a farmer market.  It had lots of yummy, fresh, organic food and I wished so much that I was flying home so that I could shop till I dropped.  They even had a stand that sold freshly made green smoothies!

The food and drink scene in San Diego is amazing!  Lots of great restaurants that have food fresh from local farms and bars that use fresh ingredients and take time making hand crafted drinks.

I tried a drink I’ve been wanting to try for some time now and since next weekend is the Kentucky derby I went for it.

A Mint Julep 🙂

I was worried it was going to be too sweet but it was actually really good!

I think if we had more restaurants like that here we would go out to eat a little more.  Not sure if that would be a good thing or a bad thing though 🙂

My flight got in early this morning so I was home around 9:30 and got to play with the love nugget before his nap.  So good to be home with him 🙂  While he napped I unpacked and got started on laundry.  The one thing I hate about traveling (besides flying) is unpacking.  I feel like it takes so long to get everything all put away.  I also had some time while he slept to work on some birthday stuff for the love nugget and make the hubby granola bars for the week.  The weather is super nice today so the love nugget and I went out for a run.  So good to be home!

Hope everyone had a great weekend too!

One comment on “Home Sweet Home

  1. Sounds like a great weekend! No need to re-cap via email. 🙂

Leave a Reply

