Leave a comment

Packing

So this is the third time this week that I’ve finished a post and saved it or posted it and it deletes half the post!  Today was the worst.  The only thing left after hitting save on a completed post was one sentence.  Triple grrr….

Today after and awesome workout at Stroller Strides we went to one of our favorite stores, Target!  Just to grab a few things for the hubby and love nugget while I’m gone this weekend.

Then we came home and while the love nugget napped I started packing.  I’ve always been one of those obsessive packers that has an organized list broken down into categories and starts a few days to a week in advance.  When we went to Europe for two weeks a few years ago, I think I started packing two weeks ahead of time!  While this can be a good thing, it also tends to lead me to over pack.  I like to have my options 🙂  Although this weekend since it’s just me and I’m flying, I only want to take one carry on and a large purse.  So far it’s pretty stuffed!

On top of packing today, I needed to make the love nugget some food for this weekend while I’m gone.  Usually during the day if I don’t have anything pre-cooked, I just throw something together for him.  The hubby isn’t as resourceful so I want to make sure they’re both all taken care of.  So today I managed to make him Turkey and Kale Meatballs, Cauliflower Cream Cheese Won Tons, and Chicken Nuggets (recipe coming soon!)

For the Turkey and Kale Meatballs I started by pulsing two leaves of organic kale and 6 steamed baby carrots until they were chopped and combined.

 

Then I put the puree into a mixing bowl along with 1/4 pound of organic ground turkey breast.

I added to that, 1/2 tsp Mrs. Dash seasoning, 1/4 cup parmesan cheese, and 1/4 cup whole wheat bread crumbs.

Using my hands I mixed it together until just combined then rolled the mixture into small meatballs and placed them onto a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray.

I baked them for 20 minutes then added a few to some whole wheat spaghetti noodles and organic plain tomato sauce (not pasta sauce, the plain tomato sauce in a can.)

Turkey and Kale Meatballs with Spaghetti

1/4 lb organic ground turkey breast or ground turkey

2 organic kale leaves

6-7 steamed organic baby carrots

1/4 cup bread crumbs

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

1/2 tsp Mrs. Dash seasoning

handful of broken whole wheat spaghetti noodles

1/4 cup organic no salt added tomato sauce

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Puree kale and carrots until combined.  Place kale mixture and the rest of the ingredients in a small mixing bowl.  Using your hands, mix until just combined.  Roll into small balls and place onto a slightly sprayed baking sheet.  Cook for 20 minutes then add a few to pasta and sauce.  Store the rest in the refrigerator or freezer.

Leave a Reply

