Leave a comment

Cookies!

I can’t remember the last time I was sick.  It definitely has not happened since I’ve had the love nugget.  Dealing with an 11 month old all day long while you’re not feeling well is a challenge for sure!  Not only that, but he is bored with all his toys right now.  I refuse to buy him any new ones since his 1st birthday is in just over a month and I’m sure he’ll get some.  So he spends most of the day under my feet or trying to climb up my legs.

Since the weather is nice, his new thing is to look out the front door with the dog which keeps him a little busy.

Other wise he is getting into anything he shouldn’t and trying to escape me by climbing up the stairs as fast as he can go.

I know, I know… A baby gate is on our list of things to get, soon.

When the love nugget was napping I got a sudden burst of energy and managed to get a ton of cleaning done.  I also threw together a nice floral arrangement using one of the only flowering bushes in our yard.  (Still working on getting our yard done.)

It’s amazing how much brighter a bouquet of flowers can make a room and your day!

I also thought about a conversation the hubby and I had the other night. I had roasted some asparagus and cauliflower for dinner.   I remember not liking roasted cauliflower and the hubby said he wasn’t a fan either but I had some that I needed to use so I gave it a shot.  Yum!  It turned out to be pretty good!  The hubby was avoiding trying it.

Me – “Just try it.”

Hubby – “Nope, I already know I don’t like it.”

Me – “But you haven’t had it.”

Hubby -“I have had it and I don’t like it.”

Me – “But you haven’t had it when I’ve made it.”

No response….

Me – “If you try it, I’ll make you cookies.”

Hubby – “The kind with real sugar?”  (Haha!  He never even notices the difference until I tell him their sugar free anyways!)

Me – “Sure, the kind with real sugar ;-)”

Hubby – Trying the cauliflower expecting not to like it….  “Hmmm… it’s actually not bad.”  Taking another bite.  I swear he’s like a child sometimes!

Since I’ve been sick the past week and not feeling like making cookies, or much else for that matter.  I felt like I needed to hold up my end of the bargain and make him some cookies today.  The kind with real sugar 😉

I’ve been wanting to try this recipe from Peas and Thank you since I got the book.  So it will be our little secret that his cookies were vegan, and lower sugar:-)

Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Balls (from Peas and Thank you)

1/2 cup coconut butter or non dairy butter softened

3/4 cup natural peanut butter

1/2 cup organic brown sugar ( I used coconut sugar which has a lower glycemic index and is slightly better for you than regular brown sugar.)

1/2 cup of powdered sugar (her recipe calls for 3/4 cup but I cut it down just a tad)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp salt

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour (her recipe calls for regular flour so either would work)

2 tbsp almond milk or other non dairy milk

1/2 cup or more of non dairy chocolate chips

Using a stand mixer, beat butter, peanut butter, sugars and vanilla.  In a separate bowl, combine flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix well.  Add milk as needed.  If the mixture is still dry after adding the 2 tbsp, add another or add a spoonful of peanut butter.  Add in chocolate chips.  Chill dough for 30 minutes (I skipped this step, oops!)

* Here’s the problem with making vegan cookies.  Since there is no egg in the batter, you can eat as much as you want.  Not a good thing when you are trying to cut back on sweets!  I might have had a few bites 🙂

Drop dough onto a parchment lined baking sheet using a cookie scoop.  Bake for 10 – 12 minutes.  They will look similar to when you put them in so do not over bake!  Let them sit for a minute on the tray then transfer them to a cooling rack.

And… he loved them!

Leave a Reply

