2 Comments

Almond butter vs. Peanut butter

Good morning!

We are doing much better here!  Yay!  After yesterday’s vomiting fun, I thought we were in for a rough night.  Luckily, the love nugget only woke up a few times before 10:00 and just had a slightly higher temp of 100.8.  He woke up this morning doing just fine!

I think he’s just fighting a cold and threw up from that. I sure did enjoy the cuddle time I got all afternoon 🙂

This morning we are going to take it easy and get some laundry done.  We do have some errands to run this afternoon but I think we could both use some rest too.

I’ve mentioned before how much I love almond butter.  I usually eat at least a serving a day but this is one thing I’ve tried to cut back on lately.  So far I’ve gone 3 days with no almond butter!  Woo hoo!

Since I’m such an almond butter fan, I’ve been asked by peanut butter fans what’s the difference between the two?  Is one healthier than the other?  While I enjoy peanut butter too, I actually prefer almond over peanut.  But here’s some helpful information with the skinny on the two thanks to The Fitness Dish 🙂

Almond Butter or Peanut Butter?

Almond Butter tops the list as the best, because Almonds are the best source (behind walnuts, which are #1 nut on the list) of the Good fats our body needs. Peanuts have them as well, so do Pine Nuts, Cashews, Pecans, Brazil Nuts…..

The Skinny on  Almonds

Just a quarter cup of almonds contains nearly 25 percent of your needed daily value of  magnesium, plus is rich in potassium, manganese, copper, the antioxidants vitamin E and selenium, and calcium.   In fact, (ladies especially!) a quarter cup of almonds have almost as much calcium as a quarter cup of milk. They’re also great for the colon. An animal study on the effects of almonds on colon cancer found that animals (which were exposed to a colon-cancer-causing agent) given whole almonds had fewer signs of colon          cancer than animals given almond oil or no almonds.  Researchers suspect the benefit may be due to almonds’ high fiber content. Plus, almonds are one of the best nuts for lowering cholesterol because 70 percent of the fat they contain is the healthy monounsaturated variety, which has been shown to help clear arteries!

Nutritional Facts:

Almond Butter from Trader Joes: (stir , keep in fridge upside down and it will stay mixed!)
Calories per 2 Tablespoons: 190 Total Fat: 17 grams Saturated Fat: 1 gram Trans Fat: 0 grams Polyunsaturated (good) Fat: 3 grams Monounsaturated (good) Fat: 11 grams Cholesterol: 0mg Sodium: 0mg Total Carbohydrates: 6 grams Dietary Fiber: 3 grams Sugars: 2 grams Protein: 8 gramsIngredients: Dry Roasted Almonds.
____________________________________________
Natural Peanut Butter from Trader JoesCalories per 2 tablespoons: 200 Total Fat: 15 grams Saturated Fat: 3 grams Cholesterol: 0mg Sodium: 45mg Total Carbohydrates: 7grams Dietary Fiber: 2grams Sugars: 2grams Protein: 9grams Ingredients: Peanuts, Salt. ______________________________________
Calorie wise, not much of a difference, and peanut butter is actually lower in “total fat”…but Almond Butter actually has more of the “good” fat, where peanut butter has more saturated fat, sodium (minuscule) but they do add salt. The benefits (more good fat) of Almonds over Peanuts is really the only difference (being richer in those nutrients), other than that, it’s personal preference.
Don’t be fooled. Just stick with the ‘Natural’ Brand. No processed stuff.  The ingredient list should be no more than “peanuts and salt.” Don’t get fooled like I did (majorly overlooked, not like me when it comes to food labels)  by buying the Skippy “Natural” Peanut Butter. It’s such a disgrace how anything can call itself “Natural” and you REALLY have to examine the labels. Yes, it was peanuts, salt but then there was “palm oil” which is just saturated fat. It was not “hydrogenated” or “partially hydrogenated,” but it was there and unnecessary.
DEFINITELY DO NOT grab the plain old peanut butter, ESPECIALLY the “Reduced Fat” Versions.

It should be called “Increased Fat” peanut butter, because that’s what will happen if you eat it!

Watch food labels that say “no trans fats” but the ingredient list has “partially hydrogenated fat” or “hydrogenated fats”  of any kind! See Below:

Skippy Reduced Fat Peanut Butter
contains “trace amounts” of trans fats
Calories per 2 Tbsp: 190 Total Fat 12 g Saturated Fat 2.5 g Cholesterol 0 mg Sodium 190 mg Total Carbohydrate 15 g Dietary Fiber 2 g Sugars 5 g
Ingredients: Roasted Peanuts, Corn Syrup Solids, Sugar, Soy Protein, Salt, Protein Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Oils (Rapeseed, Cottonseed and Soybean) to prevent separation, Mono and Diglycerides (to improve creaminess)Minerals (Magnesium Oxide, Zinc Oxide, Iron Phosphate, Copper Sulfate)Vitamins (Niacinamide, Pyridoxine, Hydrochloride, Folic Acid)
Th Ingredient List SHOULD NOT be that long!

A New England Journal of Medicine review of more than 80 studies found trans fat to be more dangerous to your health than ANY other food, when its ONLY 1-3% of your total calorie intake! So you only need to eat 20-60 calories A DAY of artificial trans fat for it to be detrimental to your health! BEWARE of chips and cracker and cookie packages that are labeled “”no trans fats” on their packages. Legally, manufactures are permitted to us that claim as long as one portion contains less than 500 milligrams of trans fats. An extra dollop of your “no trans fat” margarine, and a few extra “no trans fat”  potato chips or crackers and you can get you over that 20-calorie mark REAL fast!!!

Go back to May to check my blog post on “fats” to get the deal on How Evil Hydrogenated fats are and Partially Hydrogenated Fats are and why they should NOT be consumed!!! Like,  people that eat these types of fats (saturated, hydrogenated, trans fats) increase your bad LDL levels and triglycerides, and decrease your good HDL. Shrinking the size of your LDL particles make them more likely to clot and DRAMATICALLY raise your risk of heart attack.  Trans fats increase levels of a hormone-like substance (interleukin-6) which has been linked to Type 2 diabetes, hardening of the arteries, osteoporosis, and Alzheimer’s Disease. ***One other thing is Peanuts are often times a Genetically Modified crop (GMO), so Almond Butter would be the safer/cleaner choice when it comes to being pesticide-free!

I’m a huge fan of Maranatha Almond butter and you can get a huge jar of it at Costco for under $6.00!

Such a great deal!  I use it in baking, my protein balls, add it to smoothies, top my oatmeal and spread it on apples and celery.  Yummy!  The hubby still loves his peanut butter so I buy him an all natural kind with no sugar added.  He adds the sugar himself when he tops with globs of honey but at least it’s a more natural sugar!

I’m off to make my Chocolate Covered Cherry smoothie with some Almond butter!

Have a great day!

2 comments on “Almond butter vs. Peanut butter

  1. Just found your blog from WIAW and I am beyond excited! First of all, I love this post! I have been wondering the difference and benefits of almond butter vs. pb, just because I see almond butter popping up on these healthy blogs. Second, I am excited to see it’s a good source of calcium. I had to cut dairy out of my diet while I am nursing and have been wondering how I should get my calcium in. I am so excited to be a new follower and learn more on my journey to be healthy.

    If you have any tips on where I could begin to learn about what I need to do for myself and my family, or if you have any past posts of yours I could read, I would love to know! 🙂 Thanks!

    • I’m so glad you found me! I too was confused with the difference between the two nut butters. I go back and forth between almond and peanut but alway choose all natural 🙂
      I have lots of healthy, kid friendly recipes on my “cook” page and will be adding some more soon! I’m also planning some upcoming healthy eating kid posts soon! Thanks for stopping by and have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

