Leave a comment

Run!

Hi there!

We had such a great day today over here.  I started the day off joining some of my Stroller Strides buddies for a charity 5k/12k run.

I hadn’t been able to run that much for the past few weeks so I was a little worried about how I’d do.  Plus, I was feeling like I was starting to get a cold too 😦  But… I did pretty good!  Finished the entire thing without stopping once at a 8:38 pace and felt great!  I’ve done a few half marathons and a ton of 5k’s but never a 12k.  I thought it was 7 miles so as soon as I hit that 7 mile marker I booked it.  But… the finish line was not just around the corner.  NOPE, a 12k is 7.46 miles!  Well now I know!  Why do we run races in kilometers anyways?

After we went to my favorite brunch spot and celebrated with a mango Bellini, yummy!

When I got home the hubby and the love nugget were all ready to go outside to work in the yard so I joined them and got some planting done.  We are doing a major clean-up/re-plant in our front and backyard right now.  So any chance we get to get a little work done we take it.  However, the love nugget was hungry so I had to head in to feed him lunch.  While he ate, I made a new granola bar.

Banana Nut Bar

1 cup raw almonds

1 cup raw walnuts

1 mashed banana

5-6 pitted dates

1/3 cup shredded coconut

1/2 cup quick cooking oats

1/4 cup agave

1/4 dark chocolate chips

1/2 tsp cinnamon

dash sea salt

Pulse almonds and walnuts in a food processor until chopped well.  Dump into a bowl and reserve for later.   Chop dates in the food processor until chopped well.

Add nuts back into the food processor with the dates and add the rest of the ingredients.

Pulse until combined then press into a loaf pan lined with parchment paper.  refrigerate until firm.
When the love nugget woke up from his nap we decided to head down to The Fountains to get a treat and buy some dinner supplies at Whole Foods.

First stop, Gelato shop!

I got a raspberry and mango sorbetto.  Dairy free and fat-free, yummy!

The hubby always gets chocolate chip.

The love nugget got to try a little of mine since it was dairy free and he thought it was delicious!

He wasn’t as sure about the fountain though.

After a quick stop at Whole Foods we came home and enjoyed some down time outdoors with margaritas, chips and salsa.  You can see we’ve got some work to do in the background but at least we got some pots planted 🙂

The love nugget came out to have his dinner with us.  He loves being outdoors!

Leave a Reply

