Leave a comment

Choo Choo!

Hi there!

So even though today started out disappointing with the blender blow up, it turned out to be a pretty great day!  After Stroller Strides, we met a friend and her two daughters for outdoor play time.  The weather was so nice for a change so we went to a small play area by one of my favorite shopping centers.

Then we took the kids on the little train that they have there.

The love nugget thought it was fun!

We came home just in time for a nap and to clean up a little bit.  Then we headed off to meet the hubby at Costco to purchase our new blender.  We ended up getting the Ninja after a few people gave us good reviews.  Plus… it was on sale!   I’ll let you know how it works tomorrow 🙂

I didn’t have anything planned for dinner tonight but the last time we made pizza we froze some of the whole wheat dough.  So I pulled that out to defrost for the hubby and I decided to make a cauliflower pizza for me.   I’ve been wanting to try this recipe from Eat. Drink. Smile.

The only thing was that I didn’t have any mozzarella cheese nor did I have a whole head of cauliflower.  So I riced just enough to make 1 packed cup of cauliflower and used 1/2 cup cheddar cheese and 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese instead of the mozzarella cheese.  It actually turned out pretty good!  Does it taste like real pizza crust?  No.  But… it had great favor and held up pretty well.  I usually eat my pizza with a fork so this was no different to me.  I topped mine with a little quick pizza sauce, goat cheese, spinach, artichoke hearts and tofu sausage.

The hubby had his normal cheese and tofu sausage but with cheddar and parmesan as well.

We used to buy our pizza sauce and pizza dough from The Nugget or Trader Joes.  I guess I never realized how easy it was to make our own.  Thought I’d share my simple, quick easy pizza sauce recipe.

Quick and Easy Pizza Sauce

1 can of low sodium tomato sauce

1 tbsp tomato paste

1 clove garlic, chopped

1 tsp olive oil

1 tsp oregano

salt and pepper

Heat olive oil in a small saucepan and add garlic.  Cook just a few minutes until softened.  Add in the rest of the ingredients and simmer for 8 – 10 minutes.

The other night when the hubby and I were pulling out discussion starters from our “Let’s talk” box one of the questions was, “what’s your favorite ice cream?”  I’ve always been more of a frozen yogurt fan but when given the choice of ice cream flavors I always choose mint chip.  So I thought I’d make something similar tonight.

Mint Chip Frozen Yogurt  (adapted from Sugar-Free Mom)

1 banana mashed

1/2 cup greek yogurt

1/2 tsp nustevia

1/2 tsp mint extract

1 tbsp dark chocolate chips

Place all ingredients into a food processor.

Process until smooth pausing to scrape down the sides.

Put mixture in the freezer for at least 1 hour.  Stir a few times during freezing.  Scoop into a bowl and enjoy!

I think that it’s yummy for being so low-fat!  It doesn’t taste exactly like ice cream for frozen yogurt but it’s pretty close!

Hope everyone has a great night!

Leave a Reply

