2 Comments

Monthday!

Happy Friday everyone!

Today is my love nuggets 10 month birthday!  I can’t believe it’s already been 10 months AND… in two months he’ll be one!  Holy moly!  I know everyone always says the first year flies by but you never really believe them until it actually does.

We’ve had a very nice day so far!  Went for a run at the gym this morning before the hubby left for work.  Then headed to Stroller Strides for another workout and a play date after at a friends.

I wanted to share my yummy breakfast recipes from this morning!  I saw a great quick and healthy mug muffin on Dr. Oz the other day and gave it a try today.  It was pretty good alongside my protein berry smoothie

Protein berry smoothie

1/2 frozen banana

1/2 cup of frozen blueberries

1 scoop of whey protein powder

1 tbsp chai seeds (flax seeds or flax meal would work good)

1 – 2 handfuls of spinach

1 cup of almond milk, coconut milk or regular milk.

Blend and enjoy!

Flaxmeal mug muffin (from Dr. Oz)

1/3 cup flaxmeal

1 egg

1 tsp coconut oil melted

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp of nustevia or 1 packet of sugar substitute

Place all ingredients into a coffee mug.  Mix well then pop into the microwave for 1 minute.  It actually took mine just under a minute, maybe 45 seconds.

I put a little coconut spread on mine and enjoyed it with my protein smoothie!  Delish!

Can  you guess what’s on my apple?

If you said almond butter you’re right!  But… can you guess where it came from?   Mi casa!  Yep, that’s right, I made my own honey roasted almond butter today.  SUPER easy and really tasty!

Honey Roasted Almond Butter

2 cups of raw almonds

1 tbsp raw honey

1/2 tsp sea salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Place almonds onto a cookie sheet and drizzle with honey.  Roast for 8-10 minutes stirring halfway through.  Watch them because they burn easily!

Once roasted, place into a food processor and process for 7-10 minutes.  Mine took about 8 minutes to be completely processed.  Enjoy however your heart desires 🙂  Told you I was addicted to it!

The hubby is coming home early so we can take the love nugget and his trusted companion (Ziggy the dog) on a walk while the weather is nice.  It is supposed to rain all weekend 😦  Have a great weekend and please leave feed back if you try any of my yummy recipes!

2 comments on “Monthday!

  1. Hi! You inspired me to make lots of goodies yesterday!
    We made whole wheat blueberry pancakes- success! Wheat crackers-double success! And we made protein packed peanut butter balls- fabulous! I couldn’t wait to get home from work today to have one!
    Love your blog and all the recipes!

Leave a Reply

